Review: “Bookishly Ever After” by Isabel Bandeira

Surprise! It’s Sunday. I normally don’t post on Sundays but I simply couldn’t resist telling you all about this book I just finished last night; I had to write a review and share it with y’all! It’s too cute not to share really, and I’m seriously thinking about purchasing a physical copy of this book.

A shoutout to Netgalley.com and Spencer Hill Press for allowing me to read this book! It’s adorable and I found myself relating to the main character so much, I thought we were the same person at one point.

Bookishly Ever After

Title: Bookishly Ever After
Author: Isabel Bandeira
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: January 19, 2016
Length: 378 pages (paperback) (I read this book on my Kindle)
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, romance
Synopsis: (taken from Goodreads) “In a perfect world, sixteen-year-old Phoebe Martins’ life would be a book. Preferably a YA novel with magic and a hot paranormal love interest. Unfortunately, her life probably wouldn’t even qualify for a quiet contemporary.

But when Phoebe finds out that Dev, the hottest guy in the clarinet section, might actually have a crush on her, she turns to her favorite books for advice. Phoebe overhauls her personality to become as awesome as her favorite heroines and win Dev’s heart. But if her plan fails, can she go back to her happy world of fictional boys after falling for the real thing?”

My rating: 4/5 stars

Oh my goodness, guys! This book was seriously just so adorable! If you’re a bibliophile, and this book doesn’t sound interesting to you–what the heck?! You have to stop what you’re reading and read this! It’s funny, sweet, light-hearted, and speaks to my  high school self in so many ways. (Actually, it still speaks to me as a 27-year-old. XD)

Phoebe looks to some of the female leads in her favorite fantasy books to help her deal with every day life, especially when it comes to dealing with her crush, Kris, and the guy who is crushing on her, Dev. She’s shy, though, so it’s fun to see her relate to her books and go around cosplaying, meeting the author of one of her favorite series, and then feel sheepish for talking about the books in front of her friends. Eventually, Phoebe does have to face the reality (that many of us also have to do) that books and real life are quite different. Sure, you can take some cues from books, but you can’t expect your life to play out like one.

One of the things I loved most about this series was the friendship. Phoebe has a great group of friends who stuck by her and helped her along, telling her things that she did and didn’t want to hear, and I think that’s important. It reminds me of when I was in high school and hung out with the same group of friends. It really does create a special bond, especially during a torturous time like high school. However, I do wish that Phoebe would have actually listened to her friends, Em especially!

And my gosh, the entire camp scenes were beautiful. So many feels and squeals and stupid giggles on my side. XD They’re just so adorable, I can’t handle it. The fact that Phoebe wrote out an adorable little book for Dev and then the both of them just confessing their feelings–it’s like giddy high school romance to the tee. Normally, I find that stuff super cheesy but I didn’t at all this time.

Ah, loved it! Please go check this out and give it a read!

Happy Easter!

xoxo Nicole

3 thoughts on “Review: “Bookishly Ever After” by Isabel Bandeira

Leave a Reply

