Review: “Crystal Cadets”

I’ve recently been drawn into the comic world (oh, see what I did there? πŸ˜‰ ) and I’m slowly learning to love them. It’s different reading a book and going straight to reading a comic. Things are different on various levels.

But hello, a comic with the “magical girl” genre? I am ALL over that. You know why? Because Sailor Moon. πŸ™‚ The ultimate magical girl manga. I ate it up when I was growing up. Read all the manga, watched the entire show, movies included, and I have since gobbled up the newly released “Sailor Moon Crystal.”

Well, hats off to Netgalley, Lion Forge, and Roar Comics for granting my wish and letting me read this! I enjoyed it!

Crystal Cadets

Title: Crystal Cadets
Author(s): Anne Toole, Katie O’Neill (illustrations),Β Paulina Ganucheau (illustrator)
Publisher: Roar Comics
Release Date: December 23, 2015
Length: 128 pages (paperback)
Genre: MiddleΒ Grade, comics
Synopsis: (taken from Goodreads)Β “Zoe has always felt out of place; her foster parents are great and all, but she’s long felt like something was missing. That is, of course, until she discovers a mysterious gem left to her by her birth mother and her whole universe gets flipped around! When the crystal grants Zoe mysterious powers of light she becomes the Diamond Cadet, and she’s not the only one; suddenly she’s meeting new friends who shoot flames and glowing green arrows. It’s all fun at first, but when The Darkness possesses Zoe’s foster parents her only choice is to join this wild group of action-hero girls, traveling the globe to defeat The Darkness and find a cure! “

My rating: 4/5 stars

First off, YAAAAAS to this entire thing. I would have loved to rate it 5/5 stars but the story lacked some genuine depth to it. I think that’s just the case with the middle grade genre. A lot of times, we don’t get a lot of depth and insight to the characters that we would normally get with say, the YA genre (and sometimes even that lacks). Regardless, I still thoroughly enjoyed this comic.

I might have stated this before but I love reading books or comics about a girl with a strong group of friends, and “Crystal Cadets” definitely have that. I find it important for girls to find people they bond with when they are young because, well, stuff happens. And let me tell you, stuffΒ happens in this comic series. And it also happens quickly. I would say too quickly but I’m coming to a better understanding of the middle grade genre so for younger readers, I think it’s good.

I would totally recommend this if you’re completely into the magical girl genre like I am and want something quick and cute to read. It’s definitely worth it. I love the art as well, so that’s always a bonus for me. I’ve turned away comics if I don’t like the art even though the story may sound good.

2 thoughts on “Review: “Crystal Cadets”

Leave a Reply

