ARC Review: “Even If the Sky Falls” by Mia García (ARC)

Giveaways.

I love them even though I never win.

But I did this once! LOL Many thanks to Goodreads for hosting the giveaway and Harper Collins for sending it! 🙂

You can read my spoiler-free review below! 🙂

even if the sky falls

Title: Even if the Sky Falls
Author: Mia García
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (a division of HarperCollins)
Release date: May 10, 2016
Length: 304 pages (hardcover)
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, romance
Synopsis: (taken from Goodreads) “Julie is desperate for a change. So she heads to New Orleans with her youth group to rebuild houses and pretend her life isn’t a total mess. But between her super-clingy team leader and her way-too-chipper companions, Julie feels more trapped than ever.

In a moment of daring, she ditches her work clothes for DIY fairy wings and heads straight into the heart of Mid-Summer Mardi Gras, where she locks eyes with Miles, an utterly irresistible guy with a complicated story of his own. And for once, Julie isn’t looking back. She jumps at the chance to see the real New Orleans, and in one surreal night, they dance under the stars, share their most shameful secrets, and fall in love.

But their adventure takes an unexpected turn when an oncoming hurricane changes course. As the storm gains power and Julie is pulled back into chaos she finds pretending everything is fine is no longer an option.”

My rating: 3/5 stars

Perhaps you know my feelings about contemporary novels: I don’t like them. Well, I suppose I should say they aren’t the first genre of book I gravitate towards. But the funny thing is, I’ve read a few in a row that I actually like. I’ve found it shocking, lol.

Even if the Sky Falls tells the story of a girl who’s trying to run away from her life. The past few months have been hard on her and her family so what better way to get away from it then to fly two hours on a plane and focus your attention on something else? Well, that’s not enough for Julia so for a single, whirlwind of a day, she escapes from her youth group and literally follows the crowd where she meets a boy.

I am hesitant to say that this is felt like insta-love, but it kind of does. Julia can’t help but comment about his body. I’m not exactly sure why she seems to fall for him, to be honest. But the concept, the idea of wanting to escape from a bad home situation makes sense to me because I’ve felt like that. I connected with the feelings Julia has throughout the novel, and that’s what makes it good to me.

But I will say that’s it’s a bit crazy to think that so much happens in a matter of what…a day in a half? Things are quick, but the author balances the past and present well. We’re interested and then we’re intrigued and then we’re saddened by the past events of Julia’s family.

I will say one thing though, I felt as if the ending was a bit rushed, especially after the crazy hurricane. But despite that, the story felt…whimsical but was very much tied down to reality. There are questions, too, about what happens with Julia and Miles.

I will give kudos for breaching the mental health topic and for diverse characters. One thing I can appreciate is that this wasn’t a large focus on mental health–the main character herself does not have a mental health issue, but it’s the consequences and reactions of the people associated–how it affects family and friends.

And also, Julia telling that one guy how it is and to leave her alone. I think the guy tried to convince himself of something that wasn’t there and Julia was having none of that–calling upon her inner Abuela Julia. 😉

You can check out my review on Goodreads too!

Leave a Reply

