A few of my favorite things… (Part 1)

And by things, I mean books.

Also, did anyone else find themselves humming to the song from “The Sound of Music.” If not, here you go!

I’ve been struggling trying to figure out what to post about since I’m slacking when it comes to reading. Work has been busy and all I want to do when I come home is sleep. But that’s after I cook dinner, do some laundry, and take the dog out, lol.

Anyways, I decided to do a set of blog posts on some of my favorite books. I’m starting this one about some of my favorite YA book series!ย I’m so excited to talk about it! ๐Ÿ˜€ โค

harry potter

It would be seriously wrong of meย not to include Harry Potter. It’s a phenomena within itself. I remember hanging out with friends atย midnight book release parties, staying up all night to read book 5, and watching midnight premieres of the movies. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love all the characters (hate some too, you know who I mean!) and love that this has become one of the epitomes of the urban fantasy genre. I mean, who else has a theme park dedicated to an entire series?

the winner's trilogy

Is anyone surprised I included The Winner’s Trilogy by the lovely Marie Rutkoski? XD I’ve talked about my love for this series multiple times (like here and here) and I had the chance to get my books signed by Marie herself last month. This series is amazingly gorgeous, beautiful, heartbreaking, and lovely at the same time. The romance is swoon worthy and the characters noteworthy, especially the main character Kestrel. Fantasy lovers, you must pick this up! The final book of the series is flawless!

the raven cycle

I didn’t includeย The Raven King because I haven’t read it yet… ๐Ÿ˜€ I think I’ve mentioned before that I dislike the paranormal genre, and I think it’s just because I haven’t read many good series in this genre, especially in the YA genre. But when I saw The Raven Boys floating around the book community on Instagram (#bookstagram), I picked it up and fell in love. I’m excited and terrified to read the final book in the series, and I’m waiting with bated breath for that kiss. Another book featuring strong female characters and a hilariously dark set of secondary characters. Also, Pynch. โค

DSC00590

How could I ever forget the amazingย The Young Elites series by the equally amazing and sweet Marie Lu? I got a chance to meet her last month, acted like an awkward person front of her, and told her how much I look forward toย The Midnight Star the final book the series. I don’t think I’ve ever been so conflicted about a main character than I am with Adelina Amouteru. She’s fierce, strong, but incredibly dark. I don’t know how the series will end but I know it will end with a bang!

Go go go read these books! I mean, of course I will tell you to start with Harry Potter but you’ll breeze through those so you can get to the rest of these amazing book series!

Have you read any of these? What series do you suggest I read?

One thought on “A few of my favorite things… (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

