Reviews: “Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy”; “Nimona” by Noelle Stevenson

My middle school and high school love for manga transformed into a love for graphic novels and comic books. (And my husband decided he wanted to collect all of the Captain America comics, but who am I to complain?) I haven’t read as much as I would like but I do have a few favorites (hey, another blog post idea!) and I’m putting these two at the top, especially Lumberjanes!

Of course spoiler-free reviews below!

lumberjanes

Title: Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy
Author: Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters, Brooke A. Allen (Illustrator)
Publisher: BOOM! Box
Release date: April 7, 2015
Length: 128 pages (paperback
)
Genre: Middle grade, young adult, urban fantasy, adventure, comic, graphic novel
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “At Miss Qiunzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s camp for hard-core lady-types, things are not what they seem. Three-eyed foxes. Secret caves. Anagrams. Luckily, Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley are five rad, butt-kicking best pals determined to have an awesome summer together… And they’re not gonna let a magical quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way! The mystery keeps getting bigger, and it all begins here.”

My rating: 5/5 stars!

Okay, to list a few great things about this comic: 1) female friendship, 2) diverse characters, 3) LGBT main characters, 4) FREAKIN’ HILARIOUS. I’m over here giggling like an idiot. The whole “Lumberjanes” idea is like Girl Scout camp for the “hardcore lady-types.” I mean, seriously? I can already tell this will be jam packed with fun, adventure, and humor! The best part was that it was all that and more!

All the characters were great and they each brought a different aspect into their friendship that just made it all so fun and great to read. You have the bookish friend, the super random friend, the pretty chill and normal one, etc, etc. The fantasy aspect was great as well, a nice dash into this summer camp adventure for girls. I would not only recommend this to middle school and high school girls but also to guys because it’s pretty freakin’ hilarious. There’s a lot of wit in here, too, and puns! I love puns!

To be honest, I’ve not picked up a lot of comics due to the art. The story made interest me but if I don’t like the art, I put it down. Seems reasonable enough. The illustrator did a fantastic job with this and I liked how the last few pages of the volume had early sketches and the various variant covers of the issues (this volume contains issues 1-4) which I love!

I so look forward to devouring the rest of the series!

****

nimona

Title: Nimona
Author: Noelle Stevenson
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release date: May 12, 2015
Length: 266 pages (hardcover)
Genre: Young adult, fantasy, graphic novel
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones.

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.”

My rating: 4.5/5 stars

Love, love, LOVE this! Please pick this up! Please read this! You’ll love this even if you don’t think you’ll like graphic novels. It’s cute, heartwarming, and just plain adorable!

Nimona brings such light-hearted humor into her friendship with villain Ballister Blackheart, arch-nemesis of Ambrosius Goldenloin. Nimona is a shapeshifter with a mysterious past but what’s so fun about her is that she goes against all the “rules” Ballister sets. She really just wants to have fun, and by “fun” she really just wants to kill people, lol.

The ending does get a bit dark but overall, this graphic novel is brilliant. I would love to give it a full 5 stars but the ending preventing me from doing so. I won’t say any particulars because I like to keep my reviews spoiler-free buuuuuttttt, yeah. 🙂

Do yourself a favor, seriously. Read this graphic novel. Then add it to your collection. You won’t regret it.

5 thoughts on “Reviews: “Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy”; “Nimona” by Noelle Stevenson

  1. Tod Carnish says:

    This has been on my bookshelf for awhile but I haven’t gotten around to reading it, so I’m super glad you liked it! Definite motivation for me to get going on it! Thanks so much for the great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

