Review: “Wink Poppy Midnight” by April Genevieve Tucholke

I picked this book up on a whim. I’ve seen it floating around the book community on Instagram. The cover is gorgeous but the synopsis just sounded meh to me. When I saw the book at the local library, I thought “Why not?” After all, it’s a rather short read and since work has been blessedly slow, I thought I’d go ahead and give it a read, knowing it wouldn’t take me too long.

Bad decision. A very bad decision.

Spoiler-free review below but possible ranting. 🙂

wink poppy midnight

Title: Wink Poppy Midnight
Author: April Genevieve Tucholke
Release date: Marsh 22, 2016
Publisher: Dial Books
Length: 247 pages (hardback)
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, um, other things?
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Every story needs a hero. Every story needs a villain. Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?  Someone knows. Someone is lying.”

My rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I think this is my first 1-star rating of the year. I can’t remember really but that’s okay because I don’t regret the rating I gave this book.

I really should have known this book wasn’t my cup of tea when I read lines like:

“She…reached forward one day during math class, grabbed Holly Trueblood’s thick, white-blonde hair in her first, and cut it off at the skull while Holly screamed and screamed. All because someone said Holly’s hair was prettier than her own.”

“[T]he ray of light outlin[ed] her sweet girl parts…” (<– I literally LOL’ed at that one and rolled my eyes.)

And that was in just the first 15 or so pages.

Then things just got weirder. Well, okay, so maybe they were okay but then…it wasn’t.

Okay, so here’s the basic premise: Wink is a curly-haired, red-headed teen with green eyes with a lot of siblings, dubbed The Orphans. There’s Midnight, who seems to be about the only “normal” one in the group, who lives with his father in an ancient house. Then there’s Poppy. Snobby rich kid who would do anything to be the center of attention.

But the thing is, Poppy’s obsessed with Wink’s older brother, Leaf. (Also, these characters have some of the weirdest names.) She basically throws herself at Leaf but he shrugs her off. And when Leaf leaves town, we find out that Poppy will truly do anything to find out where he went.

I just feel bad for Midnight. The entire time. His life would just be awesome without ever meeting Wink or Poppy…but maybe that’s the point? Gosh, I don’t know. Poor kid was stuck between these two loons.

The writing is okay. This odd sort of flowery, poetic type language that really doesn’t do it for me.

I was glad this was less than 250 pages because if it were longer, I would have put it down a long time ago. This may be for other people but it was too…dark for me. Not in a blood and guts kind of way but in a manipulative, I-would-never-want-these-girls-as-my-friends kind of way.

Have you read this? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

