Favorite Reads of 2016…so far! (Part 1)

Well, we’re halfway through 2016 (can you believe it?!) so I thought I’d take some time to reflect/fangirl/squee over some of my favorite reads of this year. My goal this year is 65 books and I’m already 69% done, meaning I’ve read 45 books! What?! I’ll be sure to set my goal higher next year… 😉

I knew this was going to be fun but little did I know how stressful it would be also because…I mean, I’ve read some great books so far but how to just pick a few?! Decisions, decisions!

To pick a favorite, I had to have fallen head over heels in love with the book–with nearly everything about it, from its characters, the world building, writing, concept, articulation, etc. Needless to say, there were some touch decisions to make but…I did it! Hooray! I rated these book 4+ stars on Goodreads if that helps you at all about whether you should read the below books… 😀

(I ended up splitting this into two posts because man, I rated a fair amount of books at 4 or more stars. Haha.)

the falconer

Why? I mean, hello, that cover. But seriously. Steampunk historical fiction about a young woman who is the last in a line of female warriors known as the Falconers. Falconers protect humans from the Fae and the main character, Aileana is about as badass as they come. I read this in the beginning of the year and the sequel comes out this month! Yay! I’m so excited to dive into this world because the last on left on a huge cliffhanger!

_MG_0226

I was disappointed with Heir of Fire, book 3 of the Throne of Glass series. There were a lot of chapters I didn’t think were necessary or I just just plain confused about but with Queen of Shadows, it all came to fruition in a sense. I understood the chapters with Manon and really the whole point of HoF. However, I don’t like Rowan. People are freakin’ falling head over heels for this guy and Aelin but I can’t do it. Why can’t Aelin just come into her own without falling romantically for someone? *shrugs* Anyways, it was a great read and look forward to Empire of Storms in the fall!

a curious beginning

Every once in a while I’ll read non-YA. I saw this floating around the local library a few months before I even decided to pick it up. It piqued my interest but I had other books to read so I sort of just slushed it off. Shame on me, really. I haven’t read anything by this author before but I came to enjoy this novel so much. It’s great historical fiction with a strong female character. I felt like I was reading an Elizabeth Gaskell novel, it was so wonderful. This is also a mystery novel which heck, I never read like ever! That might just tell you how good I think it is… You can check out my review of it on Goodreads if you don’t believe me. 😉

ms marvel vol 1

Ms Marvel has become a huge phenomenom in the comic book by introducing a Muslim-American superhero, a teenaged girl named Kamala Khan. I’ve only read this volume because I have a few of the issues in this volume but not all so I thought I’d get the ball rolling. Her internal struggle with her identity as a Muslim yet her life as an American plays an essential role in this first volume. The art and storyline is also great so please pick this up!

gift of imperfection

I picked this up for a book club and wasn’t sure I would like it… Brené Brown is also known for her TED Talks where she talks a lot about coming to terms with our “imperfections.” I really did enjoy this book. It spoke to me in a lot of way and helped me come to terms with the things I think are my imperfections–they really just make me who I am. It talks about being authentic to who you are and how we sometimes have to choose to be real rather than being liked. One of the few non-fiction books I’ve read that isn’t about royalty! Hehe. XD

Legend

Marie Lu is one of my favorite authors. If she ends up writing a bunch more in the next few years, she’ll become an insta-buy author for me. I’m not complaining really. I devoured The Young Elites and The Rose Society and when I found out she was going to be at a book festival a few months ago, I figured I ought to read her other series. I listened to Legend on audiobook and really liked it. The dual POV didn’t really bother me like it would in other series. I did have some complaints with it but I’m hoping they’ll be smoothed out at the series progresses (yes, I still haven’t read Prodigy, so sue me).

Well, that’s 6 and I’m afraid I might be boring you now… XD I’ll post part 2 in the next couple of weeks!

Have you read any of these? Any you really loved? Any book your rated 4+ stars that I ought to read?

 

5 thoughts on “Favorite Reads of 2016…so far! (Part 1)

  1. otakutwins1 says:

    Ms. Marvel is super amazing I love her so much, I love it xD I liked how she decided to be herself and she’s a diverse hero. I’m so glad Marvel decided to make her. Especially since there’s not a lot of female, average looking (not to sound rude) characters that anyone can look up to.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

