A few of my favorite things… (Part 3)

I rarely talk about classics. I love classics. I mean, I majored in English when I was in college, how can I not love the classics?

I’m prone to British literature (is that a surprise?) so I’ve read my fair amount of it but I stick with a lot of female authors during this time period so no, I haven’t read Dickens or Trollope. (Gasp!) But in my head I keep telling myself, “Eventually” but that just hasn’t happened yet. XD

These have to be my top favorite classic novels of all freakin’ time. I fell in love with Pride and Prejudice in high school. I think it was one of the novels that truly made me love literature. I mean, I always enjoyed reading since I was in elementary school. I read every spare minute I wasn’t doing homework while in school. I enjoy all of Austen’s novels and just about every adaptation as well (1995 P&P is the best!) and these books really got me into reading classics as well. If you like P&P, please go check out The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.

north and south

I watched the BBC adaptation of this before I read the book. I fell in love with the adaptation so of course, I had to read the book. (I mean, hello, Richard Armitage?) It’s wonderful and Gaskell highlights some of the turmoils of the working class during this time period. It’s more political than say, Austen’s writing but Gaskell writes a good romance too, and that’s what I love.

jane eyre

Are my choices becoming too predictable now? Haha. I read Jane Eyre when I was a freshman but I didn’t fall in love with it until I was in college. I reread it and instantly loved it. It’s darker, a bit more gothic, but Jane Eyre is such a strong female character. She has a horrible childhood and what would seem like a horrible life until she meets Mr. Rochester. He’s a conflicted man, too, with a dark past but his heart is good. Okay, time to go fangirl over the 2011 adaptation starring Michael Fassbender and Mia Wasikowska.

evelina

I read this book once. Just once but I loved it in the end. I borrowed this from a friend in college. It was one of the first epistolary novels I’ve ever read. I wasn’t sure about the style but it read like a great novel (obviously), and there was little I could to not like it. If you like Austen and Brontë, you’ll like Evelina.

little women

Oh, look! A book by an America author! Haha! I read this just before I watched the adaptation of it (staring Winona Ryder and Christian Bale). I’m glad I did too because the adaptation changed a few minor things but overall, it was enjoyable. If you don’t know, Little Women tells the story of 4 sisters living in post-Civil War America. It isn’t political but really focuses around family dynamics. If you liked this, you might like The Marsh Family Letters, a series on YouTube. I tried to watch it but really couldn’t stand any of the characters… 😀

to the lighthouse

This is a far stretch from the previous books I posted. I went from Regency literature to Victorian to American and now…modernism! (Or is this post-modernism? I can’t remember. My English classes are failing me right now. 😦 ) I read a lot of three of Woolf’s novels during my senior year of college. I wrote my entire senior paper on two her novels and actually loved it. (Shocking!) Woolf was such a joy to read. I was able to appreciate her works better because I was actually studying them instead of simply reading for pleasure. If you like James Joyce, Ezra Pound, Gertrude Stein, or the like, you might like Woolf. It isn’t exactly a happy read and if you know anything about modernism or post-modernism literature, you know that sometimes it can be just downright confusing. But pick up a Woolf novel. She’s one of the greatest writers of the 20th century, and I wish she had lived on to write more.

What are you some of your favorite classics? Any I should add to my list?

One thought on “A few of my favorite things… (Part 3)

Leave a Reply

