June’s NerdyPost Unboxing!

NerdyPost is a new subscription box service made by Alexis Lampley (Instagram). It’s a box based around a certain fandom each other (June was Hogwarts and July is Game of Thrones). What’s cool about this box is that all the products are calligraphy prints. Calligraphy is all the rage now and while I’m not particularly overwhelmed by the thought, I thought I’d go ahead and subscribe to June’s because I mean, HELLO. HOGWARTS. HARRY POTTER. How could I not?

Click below for the contents and if you haven’t received yours, spoilers below!

IMG_5324Contents:

  • “Prefect” pin.
  • Nerdy Post card (Quidditch)
  • Bookmark (Lumos on one side and Nox on the other)
  • Hogwarts sticker
  • “I solemnly swear I am up to no good” notpad
  • 8″ x 11″ Hogwarts Crest print — The coolest part about this is that the crest is made up of spells. You can see the big “Expecto Patronum” at the top. It’s lovely. 🙂

My only real complaint is that there was some damage to the postcard and the large print. I think it was mainly due to the packaging itself. There was some cardboard protecting the large print and everything was wrapped in cellophane but I don’t think it was enough because the corners of the print were bent as was the postcard.

FullSizeRender

What’s great is that Alexis sent out a mass e-mail to those who subscribed, saying that many people had their goods damaged. USPS isn’t the most reliable when it comes to delivering delicate packages unharmed. I didn’t think I would be the only one but it gives the creator a chance to take another look at packaging the contents in a more careful way to reduce or eliminate damage altogether.

I’m not sure I’ll subscribe again the future. The entire box was $21, shipping included for US residents. I think the value was good but it’s not necessarily my cup of tea despite the fandom. This was also NerdyPost’s first box so I thought it would be a great way to startup the business. I hope it excels.

Did you subscribe to this box? If so, what did you think? Would you subscribe in the future?

3 thoughts on “June’s NerdyPost Unboxing!

  1. vivalabooklife says:

    this box looks cool! i am a huge Harry Potter nerd, and love the calligraphy designs! especially the crest and the “i solemnly swear that i am up to no good” notebook! sorry to hear that some stuff was damaged though 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

