Review: “A Court of Thorns & Roses” by Sarah J. Maas

I did! I caved in (like usually) and read this incredibly hyped book that I’ve heard nothing but amaze-balls things about!

And guess what?

I liked it but it didn’t live up to the hype. 😦 Sure, it was great! Maas writes a great story, don’t get me wrong! I love her Throne of Glass series so to read another series by her, of course I was excited! But to be honest, I wasn’t blown away by this book and for me, it didn’t live up to the hype. *hides under the table*

a court of thorns and roses

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release date: May 5, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Genre: Young adult, fantasy, romance
Length: 416 pages (hardcover)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.”

My rating: 3.5 stars

Some of my main problems with the book are the characters. The main character, 19-year-old Feyre, is labeled as a huntress but…I guess I don’t really see that? I don’t know. I think I see some warrior huntress and that’s not what she what she is. She’s also really dull. She was dull for more than half the book and it wasn’t until she went Under the Mountain that she stopped being dull, lol.

Supposedly this is a Beauty & the Beast retelling but who’s the ‘Beast’? Tamlin? Rhysand? I don’t even know. I keep seeing all this “I LOVE RHYSAND” stuff on Twitter and Instagram but you know what, I don’t even like Rhysand. He called Feyre “his belonging” and that is a no-go in my book. I super loved the romance in this but not between those two. Yes, people keep telling me to hold out for A Court of Mist and Fury and don’t worry, I will. I’m prepared to be blown away by the sequel because I was not with A Court of Thorns and Roses. I guess what I mean to say before I got distracted was that this story is not my favorite Beauty and the Beast retelling.

I am super in love with all the magical story-telling. It’s plain that Maas has a love for fairies and their lore, which can not only be seen here but also in her other series. It’s like someone else who has affinity for dragons or something. Love it!

Excellent world building. Lacking in character development. Lovely on story-telling and overall plot. Interesting what happened to Feyre at the end of the story… Will she ever go back to her family? At this point, the only thing making this ready for a sequel is Feyre’s promise to Rhysand and with all the freakin’ fan art I see, apparently, they have a lot of sex. LOL

Which brings me to another point. The sex! It was handled fairly well, I think. Some of it made me giggle (like Tamlin “feasting” on Feyre) but overall, it didn’t deter from the book and even without it, the book would still be good. It’ll be interesting to see how much more of that we’ll get in the next book.

So overall, very nice but…lacking in certain areas. However, I have the 2nd book so I’ll be reading that as soon as I can! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Review: “A Court of Thorns & Roses” by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

