Review: “Six of Crows” by Leigh Bardugo

Oh. My. Gosh. Why the heck did I wait until JUST NOW to read this book? I’m ashamed of myself, I really am. 😦

Warning: this review may contain a lot of squealing, fangirling, and gifs. You have been warned. 😀

six of crows

Title: Six of Crows
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company
Release date: September 29, 2015
Genre: Young adult, fantasy
Length: 465 pages (hardcover)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.”

My rating: 5 BEAUTIFUL, GLORIOUS, WONDERFUL, AMAZING STARS

I read Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy, thought it was great, but this! This glorious band of teenagers pulled me by my Goody Two Shoes heartstrings and would not let go. And the thing is, I don’t want to let go. Take me with you! I’m no good at bein’ a criminal but I’ll go with you! Gahhhh. This book is a hundred times better than the Grisha trilogy. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the Grisha trilogy but the series ended up falling a little flat for me, especially with the ending.

To say I was hesitant to read Six of Crows would be an overstatement. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book and let me tell you, it did not disappoint! This book is top notch, the best of Bardugo’s writing so far. The story is lush and filling. The characters each have their own little story and each story tugs at you, teasing you, bringing you along with them. The world-building is the freakin’ bomb. I mean, if you’ve read the Grisha trilogy, you’ll know a bit about the world anyways but Bardugo takes us across the sea to the bustling world of Ketterdam and to a misfit band of criminals who’re to pulled off one of the biggest heists. (Did I mention these are teenagers?)

It’s hard not to love each and everyone of these characters. Truly. I’m really a sucker for those forbidden romance ones or the ones that we never thought possible, and I’m seeing all of that in this book! That’s to say that this book is NOT filled with romance. Of course, it has its pieces but it is not a romance book at all! It’s action after action after action with lovely back story.

Basically me throughout the entire series:

happy gif

Jon-Stewart-Oh-My-God-MRW-Gif

omg gif2feels

I kept thinking to myself, “How? How is this going to end? How are they going to get out of it?” I wanted to read faster but I also wanted to read slower because I didn’t want it to end.

I’m not going to put any spoiler warnings, and heck, I won’t even write spoilers but I think you’re truly missing out if you don’t read this book. I don’t care if you don’t like YA, if you love fantasy, you’re shaming yourself by not reading this. JUST DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND READ THIS before I have to stuff it down your dang throat.

I’m actually quite glad I read this closer to the release of Crooked Kingdom. I’m sad this is a duology but I’m excited to see how Bardugo will wrap things up especially with that ending.

Also, IF MY OTP FROM THIS BOOK DO NOT MAKE IT TO THE END OF CROOKED KINGDOM , YOU AND I WILL HAVE WORDS, BARDUGO.

Anyways, here’s a list of some of my favorite quotes:

“I’m a business man,” he’d told her. “No more, no less.”
“You’re a thief, Kaz.”
“Isn’t that what I just said?”

“Why do you think I’ve been keeping you around?”
“I’m good at demo.”
“You’re passable at demo. You’re excellent at hostage.”

“I don’t want your prayers,” he said.
“What do you want, then?”
Money. Vengeance… You, Inej. You.

“I can feel just how much you hate sleeping next to me. I feel it every morning.”
[He] brushed bright scarlet. “Why do you have to say things like that?”
“Because I like it when you turn red.”

She had her aim now, her heart had direction, and though it hurt to know that path led away from him, she could endure it.

“The life you live, the hate you feel–it’s poison. I can drink it no longer.”

“I have been made to protect you. Only in death will I be kept from this oath.”

She laughed, and if he could have bottled the sound and gotten drunk on it every night, he would have.

He needed to tell her…what? That she was lovely and brave and better than anything he deserved. That he was twisted, crooked, wrong but not so broken that he couldn’t pull himself together into some semblance of a man for her. That without meaning to, he’d begun to lean on her, to look for her, to need her near.

And here’s one of my favorite fanarts by the lovely Phantom Rin. Please go follow her on Tumblr and Twitter. 🙂

nina and matthias

8 thoughts on “Review: “Six of Crows” by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Ali (@thebandarblog) says:

    I’m reading this book right now! I had a really hard time getting into it (I think it took my 4-5 days to read 50 pages lol), but the plot is finally clear, and I’m starting to get a bit more into it. I’m only on page 100 though (they just got Matthias) – I hope it picks up soon so I can squeal with delight like everyone else!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

