Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books Set Outside the USA

So by now I’m probably still driving to my campsite! I scheduled a few posts to make sure I don’t flood my blog with posts and I don’t get anxious trying to write all the posts… ^_^’ I also brought a handful of books with me so I can keep up with my July TBR and, of course, to keep myself entertained!

The 13-hour drive to  our destination was split into two days for the sake of my sanity and of course, the pure goodness of roadtripping–sight seeing and eating, for my husband and me. πŸ™‚

Anyways, here’s my TTT for this week! Leave a link to your TTT and I’ll be sure to check it out! ❀

Now, I haven’t  necessarily read all these books but they all fit the TTT topic so here goes!

IMG_5262

I read Me Before You months before I knew there was a movie in production. A friend recommended this book to me and I’m so glad I read it! It tells the story of Louisa Clark who becomes the caretaker to a quadriplegic man. It’s a gorgeous story and the movie is great as well. It’s set in England. I haven’t read the sequel, After You, but I believe it’s set in England and maybe even France.

IMG_5283

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Syke takes place in imperial Russia during the 1800s. I don’t know much about imperial Russia. I know a bit about the Romanovs before the Bolshevik Revolution, and I read a biography of Catherine the Great last year. This book is about two young enchanters who duel to become the emperor’s Imperial Enchanter. You can read my spoiler-free review here.

IMG_5388

The Falconer series by Elizabeth May takes place in mid-1800s Scotland. I’ve only read The Falconer but I plan on reading The Vanishing Throne during this camping trip so… we’ll see. πŸ™‚ This is about a young girl named Aileana Kameron, the daughter of a marquis. She’s the last in a line of female fairy-hunting warriors known as Falconers.

2016-03-04 17.01.11-1

Silver in the Blood is a YA historical fiction urban fantasy series about a pair of friends from New York who travel to their homeland of Romania to spend time with their family. But there are secrets about their family they don’t know… A gorgeous cover to go with this book. You can read my review here on Goodreads.

2016-04-17 13.03.51-2

Both of these books take place in France. I haven’t read The Nightingale but both of these take place during WWII. All the Light We Cannot See was one of my top reads for 2015. I read it because it was the winner of the Pulitzer Prize last year. This book also takes place in Germany too, and follows the story of two teenagers through their respective countries. It was a gorgeous, haunting, and beautiful read. I would recommend it to anyone.

2016-05-06 14.07.42

One of most anticipated releases for April and I wasn’t wholly disappointed! The writing was poetic and beautiful, and the tie-in of mythology and historical fiction worked well. This takes place somewhere in the Middle East… I’m not super sure at the moment, haha. You can read my review here.

2016-05-26 19.45.31-2

Okay, so this may not exactly count as a book in the traditional sense but when I was in middle school and part of high school, I lived on manga! And more so, I lived on Sailor Moon, especially when I was in middle school. I would come home right after school and turn on Cartoon Network to watch dubbed Sailor Moon. It was great. πŸ™‚ So no doubt I became a huge fan of the manga as I grew older. These take places in Japan.

A  pretty well-rounded TTT, I think. πŸ™‚ I’m done with blogging for the week so I’m off to enjoy the rest of my vacation and I’ll see you back next week where I’ll review at least two books, I promise! XD

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books Set Outside the USA

Leave a Reply

