Review: “Cinder” by Marissa Meyer

So this is another book series that I’ve seen everywhere on Instagram and its praises have been sung on Goodreads as well. I actually have had this book on my shelf for months but I’m weird and had to buy the entire series before I started reading it. ๐Ÿ™ƒ

Well, I finally found Cress, the 3rd book in the series, to complete my collection for less than $9 at my local bookstore. Cinder was on my July TBR and I was so excited to finally get to it. I checked it out from my library as an audiobook but I didn’t listen to it as often because I wasn’t driving to and from work. I listened to about half before I had to return it and then I just picked it off my shelves.

Needless to say, I enjoyed it. ๐Ÿ™‚ย Especially when I realized that it was like Sailor Moon…

cinder

Title: Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Release date: January 3, 2012
Genre: Young adult, dystopian, fantasy, sci-fi
Length: 390 pages (hardcover)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earthโ€™s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. Sheโ€™s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsisterโ€™s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kaiโ€™s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her worldโ€™s future.”

My rating: 4/5 stars

First off:

sailor moon happy gif.gif

Because that was my reaction after I read this book. I won’t go into details about it but if you’ve read this bookย and you’ve read/watched Sailor Moon, you might just see the connection. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The audiobook, narrated by Rebecca Soler, is great. Soler did a fantastic job bringing the characters to life and I especially loved the way she portrayed Iko. I wished I could have listened to the whole thing. I think I’ll check out other books in the series as an audiobook if Soler continued to narrate them.

So when I switched to a physical copy, in terms of writing, I won’t say it’s necessarily strong. It isn’t abundant in flowery descriptions or lush details like maybe some other dystopian or sci-fis are. Linh Cinder is a mechanic and it’s obvious that Meyer did her research in terms of technical aspects of Cinder’s job. The world building was pretty decent. We get a bit about the history of New Beijing and how it came to be. There’s a disease that wiped out a majority of the population. Since this is a series, I know we’ll get more of the backstory which I look forward to.

In terms of characters, Cinder is relatively average. I can’t say why she’s important because that would be a big spoiler. I look forward to certain aspects of her character being explored later in the series. I guess one of my main struggles is understanding Kai’s romantic interest in Cinder.

Overall, I am pleased that I read it and I do look forward to the rest of the series. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it and this whole Sailor Moon vibe I’m getting is THE BEST FEELING.

6 thoughts on “Review: “Cinder” by Marissa Meyer

  1. Di Hewlett says:

    I missed the Sailor Moon boat. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I’m not sure if it wasn’t big in Aussie or if I was the wrong age, but I definitely missed that one. It makes me sad.

    This book though has been on my TBR for a while and I really think I need to pick it up soon. In fact, I’m moving this to my ‘Very Next To Read’ shelf because it’s come up a lot lately and I have never read a Marissa Meyer.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

