Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Things Books Have Made Me Want to Do/Learn

Oh my goodness, I actually struggled trying to put together this TTT! I’ve read so many books that have made me want to do certain things but thinking of 10…somehow, I have a problem! So I went through all my books on Goodreads and managed to find ten books, all of which made me want to do similar things.

Here we go!

Don’t forget to leave your TTT and I’ll be sure to check it out! And don’t forget to check out the other TTT on Broke and Bookish!

These books make me want to learn how to use a dagger! I mean, that would seriously be legit! Can you imagine me just pulling one out of my purse and threatening any attacker? Does this make me sound crazy? Haha! I just want to wield one like these fierce young woman!

Also, with The Winner’s Trilogy, I would love to be a strategist like Kestrel. I’m not sure it’s something you can learn but to have such a sharp mind, I imagine you’d have to practice. It’s obvious that Kestrel did that, especially because of her father.

I used to play the violin like Etta, the main character in Bracken’s Passenger. I wouldn’t mind picking it up again but I know I would be horrible, LOL. Kestrel is also a pianist and I almost wish my mother had forced me to play (it’s a Korean thing XD) but she didn’t…alas.

cinder

Cinder is a mechanic. I know absolutely nothing about cars. I’ve learned more than I would on my own because my husband is very into cars and technical things like computers. I would love not to look dumb when someone asks me something about my car, haha. I don’t even know how to change a tire! When my computer is on the fritz, I call my husband and just demand him to fix it. XD Am I horrible?

sailor jupiter

Ahhhh, reading and watching Sailor Moon has made me want to do so many things. Kino Makoto (Sailor Jupiter) is my favorite of all, and she’s just awesome. Fiercely loyal and defensive of her friends. She knows karate and is a great cook. I would love to learn taekwondo, Korea’s form of karate. I’m a good cook but definitely not as good as Makoto. 😛

So many fantasy books have horses, but these two books come to mind when I think of wanting to learn how to ride a horse. There’s more to it than just getting on a horse and telling it to go forward! XD If you haven’t read any books from the Valdemar world or even Green Rider, please do yourself a favor and read it, especially if you love fantasy!

Another great fantasy duology. These two books made me want to be a writer. I don’t know if this necessarily fits into this TTT but I couldn’t help but put it in. None of the characters in this series are writers but this book inspired my NaNoWriMo project in 2009(? or 2010? can’t remember XD) and then I ended up writing another NaNoWriMo project. I’ve read the “Song of the Lioness” series by Pierce as well, which is sort of a prequel to this duology. Please go read these books as well. Fantastic, strong female characters.

when we collided

There are probably other books that have also inspired me to want to be an artist or learn how to paint but this is the only one that comes to mind. I suppose this could also fit the “want to be a great cook” because of Jonah, one of the main characters. Anyways, it’s Vivi and her mother that paint. I took art in high school and really enjoyed it. I used to draw a lot when I was younger but I wasn’t very good at it. XD I could never make a career out of it but the simple idea of creating makes me excited. I’m a writer so I’m still creating things but painting or making art creates in a different way.

I hope you add some of these books to your TBR lists!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Things Books Have Made Me Want to Do/Learn

  1. alilovesbooks says:

    Great list. Don’t feel bad about wanting to learn to use a dagger or a martial art. I have to admit to reading those books and wanting to be a bit more kick ass. I usually just settle for a body combat class at the gym 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

