July’s Book Haul, Books Read, & August’s TBR!

I don’t think I’ve done a book haul or a TBR in a while and I’m nearly positive I haven’t done a “books read” for a certain month. Since I haven’t finished my current read in time to post a review, I thought I’d just shake things up a bit. XD

I’m so proud of myself for reading the books on my shelf. It sounds silly but the library and all the new books that have come out over the past few months haven’t given me a chance to read the books I actually own! And I’m actually trying to read books on my shelf so I can sift through them and determine which ones are worth keeping and others…not.

Here’s all the books I bought in July! Or otherwise known as my July book haul!

IMG_5702

It’s not intimidating when you buy them in batches but when you put them all together… ^_^’ Well, you know. I already have paperback copies of Shadow and Bone and Siege and Storm but then I found Ruin and Rising and the first 2 in hardback so I just bought them all and gave the paperback editions to my best friend. 🙂

Because I found Cress, I felt like I could finally start The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. (You can check out my review of Cinder here.) I now own the entire series and I already love the first book so I hope to enjoy the rest of the series because I’ve heard such great things!

And of course, one of many queen’s of YA writing, Sarah J. Maas! My mom bought me A Court of Mist and Fury. Last month one of my favorite bookstores, Hastings, is going out of business. 😦 It’s sad but there’s sales, and I bought Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire for $6 in hardback. A few days later I found Throne of Glass for less than $10. Now all I need is the collection of novellas and I’ll be set!

I found a few of the other books for relatively cheap. I don’t think I paid more than $12 for any of the books. I’m taking a risk by reading Confess by Colleen Hoover. I read two of her books before, Hopeless was okay and November 9 was better. Apparently, Hoover is the queen of NA literature but I’ve always been hesitant to dive into NA because I’m rolling my eyes a lot of times. Anyways, I hope Confess is a good read!

I got This Savage Song through a book trade. I read Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic and wasn’t really impressed (I remember being really confused) but This Savage Song was one of my most anticipated reads for July! I’ve heard fantastic things about it so I’m looking forward to reading it!

FullSizeRender 2

Here are some of the books I read in July. Not all picture because some were library books and some were e-books but I believe I managed about 7-ish. Not too bad for being on vacation. 😛 Six of Crows was freaking fantastic, and I enjoyed The Raven King as well. Actually, all of these books were good and I rated all of A Court of Thorns and Roses 4 or more stars.

FullSizeRender 3

Now here’s my August TBR pile! This doesn’t include about two e-books which I received from Netgalley and the respective publishers. I had hoped to get to An Ember in the Ashes in July but alas. I plan to read The Heart of Betrayal because the next book in the series, The Beauty of Darkness, released this past Tuesday! I’m so looking forward to all these books! ❤

Whew! Sorry for the semi-long post! It seems I had more to say than I thought… ^_^’

Have you read any of these? What are your thoughts?

5 thoughts on “July’s Book Haul, Books Read, & August’s TBR!

Leave a Reply

