Non-bookish Post #4: That time I went camping…

A little over a month ago, I posted about summer vacation finally arrving. My plans included reading many books on my TBR (check!), go camping (check!), and finish the first draft of my book (check!).

Since I DNF a book earlier this week (read my review on Goodreads here), I don’t have a decent book review to post so a non-bookish post about my life is always a good substitute… I hope you don’t mind. 😉

First off, I did read many of the books that were on my TBR! That included CinderSix of CrowsThe Raven King, and a few I received from publishers. I spent a majority of my summer vacation reading but I also did spend time with family, too, of course. 🙂

IMG_5643(The Raven King & I made it to the top of Pikes Peak in Colorado. 😀 )

So Husband & I traveled 13 hours to northern Colorado to camp at a national park. It got on average about 78 degrees in the daytime and around 55 degrees at night. I didn’t actually take any pictures of the campsite because I completely forgot. XD We had a 4-person tent but by golly I felt cramped inside. I guess it didn’t help we had our backpacks, cooler, and other supplies inside because we didn’t want critters getting into our stuff (which reminds me that a chipmunk freaked me out and birds ate some of our food we accidentally left out 😦 ).

IMG_5626

This buck was very close to one of the campsites and I was like, “He’s so beautiful!” Husband was in awe because he used to hunt so we were both just amazed it came near enough to the campsites, especially with all the people around.

So Husband was bored by day 2 so we cut our trip early and headed to Colorado Springs where we drove to the top of Pikes Peak (hence the picture with The Raven King) and went to Garden of the Gods and this adorable touristy town right at the foot of the mountain.

IMG_5637

It was such a relief from the 100+ degree weather we’ve been having back home. I actually got cold and had to wear a jacket! 😮 The top of Pikes Peak was around 52 degrees, a 25 degree difference than at the bottom of the mountain! We enjoyed downtown Colorado Springs and spent a lot of time walking around (catching Pokémon!), going into the local businesses. It was fun, and I think Colorado Springs is one of my favorite cities.

IMG_5631(This was not in Colorado Springs but in a small town about 45 minutes from where we camped.)

In other news, yes, I finished the first draft of my book! 😮 I’m currently in the process of editing it (3/4 of the way done), and then I’ll revise and add some scenes before sending it out to a few beta readers, which means I’m still looking for beta readers if anyone wants to read a YA fantasy. If you want to know more, you can check out my interview with Soph here where I walk about my current WIP and other book writing inspirations! 🙂 (Look for “The Black Season: Novel Discussion with Nicole!”)

A fairly productive summer vacation, if I do say so myself. 😀

I’ve been at work for a little over 2 weeks now, and I’ve been incredibly busy. I’ve been drowning in boxes and paperwork, while dizzying myself with financial stuff (not my forte), all while trying to do stuff for 4 other people in the office at the same time. August and September are our busy months so I’m hoping it’ll calm down afterwards. I could probably build myself a box fort from all the boxes I’ve had to go through and organize. XD

Well, until post #5!

Leave a Reply

