Review: “Lady Killer, Vol. 1” by Joëlle Jones & Jamie S. Rich

I picked up this book on a whim on a trip to my local library. I’d actually seen this comic around the comic book shops (when I actually went to them–it’s been a while) and I liked the premise and the art but I never did manage to buy it.

So of course I’m minding my own business, perusing the displays at the library, when I see a whole display of just comic volumes. I saw this and picked it up without question. I needed something easy to read and this was really perfect.

Lady Killer

Title: Lady Killer, Vol. 1 (issues #1-5)
Author: Joëlle Jones (illustrator), Jaime S. Rich (co-author)
Publisher: Dark Horse Comics
Release date: September 15, 2015
Genre: Graphic novel, comics, mystery, thriller
Length: 138 pages (hardcover)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Josie Schuller is a picture-perfect homemaker, wife, and mother—but she’s also a ruthless, efficient killer for hire! A brand-new original comedy series that combines the wholesome imagery of early 1960s domestic bliss with a tightening web of murder, paranoia, and cold-blooded survival.”

My rating: 4.5/5 stars

First off, can you really argue with that cover? That’s Josie Schuller, the main character, looking fabulous while mopping blood off the floor. She’s wearing gloves , heels, and pearls. Flawless, really.

Right. So Josie Schuller is an hit(wo)man, juggling a husband, two daughters, and a nosy German mother-in-law. She’s also drop dead gorgeous. When Josie gets into a bit of a pickle (is that 1960s slang?) with her boss, he turns and puts a hit on her, claiming she won’t be able to continue juggling domestic bliss and her work without being emotionally compromised (truth is, we see some of that on a particular “hit” she has to make).

So what does Josie do? She decides to turn the hit around on her boss. It’s perfect, really. This volume contains issues #1-5 but I’m going to have to grab volume 2 quickly because it ended on a bit of a cliffhanger.

The art is absolutely amazing. Joëlle Jones illustrated and this is the first time I’ve come across her work. When you’re working on a comic or graphic novels, art will obviously play a big role to your readers and for me, if a comic has art that doesn’t appeal to me, I won’t pick it up despite the interesting storyline. Jones can draw Josie as a pin-up and I’d be happy.

There is a lot of blood, violence, and suggestive themes, but if you can overlook that, then this is a fantastic comic. I mean, it’s really great with those things in there, too. I look forward to reading more of Josie and I’m going to start looking for individual comics at my local comic book shop! 🙂

One thought on “Review: “Lady Killer, Vol. 1” by Joëlle Jones & Jamie S. Rich

Leave a Reply

