I Met Sabaa Tahir and It Was AWESOME.

Truth, guys, truth.

No one ever comes to my neck of the words! Seriously, like ever! So when I saw that Sabaa would be in town, I literally shrieked at my husband, who then proceeded to give me a funny look. Whatever, Husband. You don’t know my excitement.

Sabaa was on tour for the release of A Torch Against the Night, the sequel to her YA fantasy debut, An Ember in the Ashes. If you follow me on Instagram or Twitter, you know I love the book. Seriously. I had heard great things about AEitA but I waited until last month to read it. I don’t regret it because the sequel came out soon after I finished so now I’m currently in the torturous waiting until the third book comes out.

There’s so much to love about the series, including the incredible world-building and fierce cast of characters. There’s action, adventure, romance, and overall, everything I love about the fantasy genre including magic!

Sabaa was at a small local bookstore called Best of Books. Sadly, I didn’t know this place existed until the event! Sadly, it’s located about 30 minutes away from where I live so that’s probably why I didn’t know about it. I don’t venture that far north. They had a lovely selection of books, including multiple shelves for YA, along with Oklahoma history, non-fiction, and the like.

Sabaa was there with local author, Jennifer Lynn Barnes, who wrote The Fixer, which was published by Bloomsbury last year. I haven’t read her book or any of her other books and I was really there for Sabaa but it was neat to have a nationally recognized local author there!

dsc01605

Sorry, guys, I have this thing about not being in the front row. I feel so exposed.

The event was actually quite small–maybe around 40 people or so. Sabaa talked a bit about her life before she became a writer. She was a copy editor for the (Washington?) Post who worked on international news, and we see some of that experience come into play in her writing. Something that I found very refreshing as a writer myself was that she worked on AEitA for 7 years before sending it out for publication. It just shows that it takes patience and dedication and I’m so glad because this is such an amazing series!

After she spoke, she did her own little Q&A quiz where she asked us questions about characters in her book, or some of the other books she loves (she’s a fan of Victoria Aveyard, Sarah J. Maas, and Leigh Bardugo!) but she did this “quiz” in reverse in that we had to volunteer first and then she would ask us a question. Ah! I plucked up enough courage to raise my hand when she asked, “Who’s a huge Leigh Bardugo fan?” I mean, hello?! lol

dsc01607

She asked me to name all the characters in the Six of Crows gang! Pffft, easy peasy. I won a cute little AEiTA tote bag! Then we were able to ask her questions. I think my favorite part was there she talked a bit about the audiobook versions of her books. Because I’ve recently come to love audiobooks, I’m fascinated when authors are able to give us a little bit more info about the process. Sabaa said she was given a list of voice actors and some audio of each actor to choose from. She also said the voice actors who read the audiobooks are perfect for each of their characters so now I’m gonna check out the audiobooks from the library as soon as I can!

I had such a fantastic time! Sabaa is so down-to-earth and funny and overall a nice person! It’s just amazing being able to see an author who wrote one of your favorite series! It was seriously a dream come true!

img_5995

And because I’m too much of a fangirl, I’m gonna include this lovely Tweet that Sabaa wrote to me:

img_6099

I actually wrote Sabaa a note, thanking her for her books and how much they mean to be and because I know she’s a music nerd, I have her an iTunes gift card. 🙂 No regrets because she loved it and I’m IN AWE AND GIDDY JUST THINKING ABOUT IT.

6 thoughts on “I Met Sabaa Tahir and It Was AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

