Top Ten Tuesday: All about the Villains!

Top Ten Tuesday is a book blog meme created by The Broke and The Bookish. Today’s theme is villains and can be anything ranging from top ten favorite/most compelling villains in books, top ten of the most vile villains/bad guys in books, top ten villains I secretly (or not so secretly) love, favorite tv villains, favorite comic book villains, ten “villains” of contemporary lit.

I think I’ll do a hodgepodge because I’ve actually never done a post about villains or even considered them for a long time so here goes!

The Darkling from the Grisha trilogy — I mean, if you’ve read this trilogy, you know exactly what I mean! I was rooting for Alina and the Darkling until… Well, until things hit the FAN and went CRAZY. So yep. Handsome, brooding villain but with a very dark past and a master plan to rule the world! MWAHAHAHA. Or something.

harry potter british

Lord Voldemort from the Harry Potter series — I mean, when you want to split your soul into 7 pieces so you can live forever, how much crazier can you get? If you’re one of those rare individuals who hasn’t read the series WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE? lol Kidding. (Or am I? 😉 ) There are a slew of “villains” in this series, including Dolores Umbridge and Bellatrix LeStrange. I feel like it should also be noted that the PLOT TWIST with Snape whom we thought was a villain but turned out to be a misunderstood hero (FIGHT ME!) could also count as a villain. RIP Alan Rickman!

The Commandant from An Ember in the Ashes series — Sick, sadistic, vile, cruel, I believe the Commandant falls under all these categories and more. She sees people as pawns and tools to use for her own gain. She grinds my gears! Although I am intrigued by her backstory, I don’t think it’ll do enough to put her in my good graces ever!

the winner's trilogy

Okay, so the Emperor and General Trajan from The Winner’s Trilogy may not be your typical villains but I can see them as being, ultimately, the “bad guys” in this series. They both pushed their children into doing things the children didn’t want to do and then it backfired on them. For Kestrel, her father’s actions had both psychological and emotional effects on her. She faced her fears towards the end with the Bite and Sting game she played with the Emperor and I think it made her realize that everything and everyone was expendable in the eyes of the Emperor and Kestrel wouldn’t stand for that. She fought for her people and a better life.

sherlock

Okay, moving onto TV (and literature, technically) for a change: Um, hello, James Morality from Sherlock. People are crazy! Seriously. And when you have to fake your own death to nab the guy! Crazy! This show is absolutely brilliant though! Seriously fell in love with Benedict Cumberbatch and so excited for the return of season 4 (and for “Doctor Strange”)!

purple-man

Purple Man from Marvel’s Jessica Jones on Netflix. Seriously psychotic and obsessive in his freakishly odd infatuation with Jessica. It’s so hard for me to imagine David Tennant playing a bad guy (he’s my favorite Doctor) but he did it so convincingly, I was in awe.

the-master-mistress

The Master/Mistress from Doctor Who. I am woefully behind on Doctor Who (Clara’s alive!) so while I’ve seen bits of the Mistress/Master I haven’t fully seen her madness like we did with the Tenth’s Doctor’s Master. These are just people who like to see the world burn.

Sorry for the mixing and messiness but this category is just so broad; it was hard to narrow it down!

Don’t forget to  leave your TTT in the comments and I’ll check it out! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: All about the Villains!

  1. Esther @ Chapter Adventures says:

    I’m here to fight you over Snape.
    Just kidding haha. I do think he is a problematic man, but I understand why people refuse to call him a villain. He wasn’t 100% evil, after all.
    The Purple Man was. I loved David Tennant portraying him and how disgusting his character was. I freaking loved Jessica Jones. She was so badass. And The Master was also a pretty fantastic villain. I haven’t seen the Mistress in action, the only episodes I saw were pretty mild but she was definitely creepy 😛

    You can check my favorite villains here if you want.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

