Review: “Cress” (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

Look, it’s not that I don’t think this is a great series because it is. I don’t even think I can pick a favorite character, though I’m prone towards Thorne because it’s hilarious, and I think my favorite couple might just be Scarlet and Thorne because he’s dark and brooding but Cress and Thorne come in a close second because they’re just totes adorbs.

But I’m not as enamored with the series as I hoped to be. I don’t even know why! What’s wrong with me? I don’t know. There’s no excuse. That’s just how it is. #sorrynotsorry Or something like that…

cressTitle: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends (Macmillan)
Release date: February 4, 2014
Genre: Young adult, sci-fi, dystopian, romance
Length: 560 pages (hardcover)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “In this third book in Marissa Meyer’s bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and prevent her army from invading Earth.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl trapped on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s being forced to work for Queen Levana, and she’s just received orders to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is splintered. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price than she’d ever expected. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai, especially the cyborg mechanic. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.”

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

Pros: World building. Forever amazing. The writing is also simple and straight forward. No over flowery language or overused descriptive. THE CHARACTERS. I love each and every one of them in their own way. I loved the multiple POVs. This series is such all encompassing so I feel as if the multiple POVs is necessary. I really look forward to when Scarlet and Wolf are reunited. They might just be my favorite… ❤

As for the characters, I started to like Thorne more and more while he traveled with Cress. He seemed kind of like an airhead but when things were serious, he was serious especially in a situation like this. And I loved Cress! She was practically fangirling every time she was near him! I suppose she might be considered a bit “immature” but all things considered, I believe it’s part of her character. She is the damsel in the distress and she wants someone to come and save her, and she found the right person in Thorne. The end scene with Kai and Cinder was killing me. I was yelling at my phone, “TELL HIM. TELL HIM NOW.” Haha. XD

I’m so glad she did. ❤ But I can only imagine how the final book with play out because how in the world will they do it?!

Also, creepy Princess Winter! I’m not even sure she’s playing a game or being for real! I’m glad we were introduced to her, and I love how Meyer has introduced us to the characters in the the next book in the previous book. (Does that make sense? lol) I can’t imagine Winter is actually crazy but I’m intrigued about her relationship with Jacin, her royal guard! He’s an enigma too. He comes off really cold so I’m not quite sure how I feel about him yet… I imagine I’ll feel differently when I read the final book. SO MUCH NEEDS TO HAPPEN.

Leave a Reply

