Review: “milk and honey” by Rupi Kaur

“i had to leave
i was tired of
allowing you to
make me feel
anything less
than whole”

milk-and-honeyTitle: milk and honey
Author: Rupi Kaur
Publisher: Createspace
Release date: November 4, 2014
Genre: Poetry, non-fiction
Length: 204 pages (paperback)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.”

My rating: 5/5 stars

Wow! Wow, wow, wow! I wish I’d read this when I was 18 years old, although I am so glad I read it now–at 27. This is a heartbreaking yet beautiful and joyful journey trying to wade through muck and mire of the world; of trying to figure out who you are, not what others tell you who are. Also learning and understanding that you don’t need anyone to make you feel complete but you complete yourself–you are whole and loved because you are you.

Truth is, I don’t read a lot of poetry. I think I got too much of the heavy, flowery stuff of the 1600-1800s that I’m a bit put off by it but this is lovely and such a break from the structure of what I’ve learned poetry to be. milk and honey is raw and honest. Whether it was just a few lines or big paragraphs or words, everything spoke to me in different and particular ways. A lot of Kaur’s words describe exactly how I didn’t know how to put into words what I felt when I was a teenager.

If you’ve ever been hurt or made to feel less than whole, if you’ve felt as if you’ve had to hide yourself, or if you’ve ever been in a dark places, please read this. It may not be everyone’s cup of tea but I feel like everyone could get something–even if it’s small–out of this collection. I will watch out for whatever Kaur writes next and know it will be just as powerful as this.

3 thoughts on “Review: “milk and honey” by Rupi Kaur

  1. Sarah says:

    I’ve heard so many good things about this book! It’s making me want to publish my own. I’ve done a mini series of poetry on Kobo that’s available for $1 but it only has 3 purchases and no feedback haha. I’m too scared to actually share it around.
    Definitely need to get myself a copy of Milk & Honey, though. Sounds like it would be very relatable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

