Review: “A Court of Mist and Fury” by Sarah J. Maas

I prepared for a barrage of comments about my review for this book because… Well, I was rather underwhelmed with this book. Yes, it was better than A Court of Thorns and Roses but I wasn’t falling out of my seat in anticipation. Truthfully, there were times this book dragged on. I mean, it’s over 600 pages!

Well, here goes. *hides under a table*

acomafTitle: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release date:  May 3, 2016
Genre: Young adult, new adult, romance, fantasy
Length: 624 pages (hardcover)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world torn apart.”

My rating: 3.5/5 stars (*gasp*)

Here’s the thing: I debated about not writing a review for this, and I think it’s mainly because I didn’t love it as much as I wanted to. For me, it was another hyped book. Of course, I’m not saying it wasn’t good because it was, but everything I’ve seen on the Internet regarding this series, including all the fan art, made me assume it was mindblowingly awesome and that Feyre and Rhys had a lot of sex. Haha. (Only partially true.)

When I come across something like this, I separate the sex and the actual plot to see if, without the sex, the story is still good. While the smut itself doesn’t add much to the story outside of Rhys and Feyre’s need for one another, I can still appreciate the plot for what it was. It was overarching, and initially, I found myself relating to Feyre very much.

So first off, here’s what I did enjoy: Feyre’s healing. I found it strikingly similar to my own when I around her age (19, right?). We’ve seen that Tamlin has very much kept Feyre hidden inside his home, making her feel like a prisoner even though she’s supposed to be his bride. Tamlin doesn’t let Feyre be herself. He says he wants to protect her but he goes about it all wrong.

And I think that’s what I love about Rhys: he allows Feyre to heal on her own. Sure, he may help but it does so in subtle ways. Yes, we also see how he uses her for his own gain but he simply leaves her alone when she wants to be left alone. (I mean, teaching her how to read and all those sentences he made her copy totally made me giggle.) What he does do for her: he provides a safe environment for her to heal, a group of people whom she can call friends and trust–something she didn’t really have with Tamlin (although I’m prone to believe that Lucien may turn his back on Tamlin–after all, THAT ENDING). And I did feel bad for Lucien in the end. I hope Feyre finds it in herself to forgive him.

In terms of her friends, Feyre is hesitant of course but Maas introduces the Night Court–Cassian, Azriel, Mor, Amren–as individuals who all have a dark past, and I also think that’s what Feyre needed–to know that she wasn’t alone in what happened to her. We all go through dark things and it matters how we come out in the end. I love the slow building relationship between Rhys and Feyre, especially since towards the end of the book, we discover why they’re drawn to one another and how difficultit was for Rhys to stay away from Feyre as she needed time to heal. It’s endearing, really, and perhaps that’s what everyone finds so lovely about these two. These are two broken souls who have healed separately and also healed together.

Maas is brilliant when it comes to world-building and plot. The world-building was fantastic, lush, and colorful. Each aspect full and brilliant on its own. We dive into the world, and I didn’t want to leave! However, I can’t say much about the plot. It’s thick–murky even–and at some points, it dragged on, and that’s part of the reason I didn’t rate it higher. There are a lot of things going on in this book and while I appreciate the complexity, I felt there was too much going on at times.

Despite that, I enjoyed how everything tied together–how Rhys explained to Feyre why he did what he did to help her. I loved their coming together (yes even the sex, though I’ve always been turned off by some of the scenes she writes to describe their love-making.) Their love for each other is raw and powerful, so powerful that they use it to their advantage when they face the King of Hybern.

The ending was so good too! I saw some fanart in regards to this and I wondered when it would come into play. Definitely a cliffhanger for this book! I can’t believe I have to wait until next May to get a hold of it! So glad the next book in the series has a title though. However, I can say as of right now, I’m more of a fan of Maas’s Throne of Glass series but I’ll recommend either to friends who are looking for a intricate plot and amazing characters with a beautiful love story.

Leave a Reply

