Review: “Prodigy” by Marie Lu

You can check out my review of Legend before you read this (scroll to the bottom). Unless you’ve already read this series then go forth!

I really enjoyed Lu’s The Young Elites trilogy and it became one of my favorite series. While TYE is her 2nd series, Legend is her first so of course I had to read it and I’m actually enjoying it. I’m not a huge fan of dystopian novels–it’s not the genre I pick above all else but dystopians seem to be a big hit now and we’re seeing more and more of them in YA literature.

prodigyTitle: Prodigy (Legend #2)
Author: Marie Lu
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Release date: January 29, 2013
Genre: Young adult, dystopian
Length: 371 pages (hardcover)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?”

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

I liked this more than Legend. Mainly because  many of the questions I had with the first book were answered in this one. The world-building was fleshed out, characters evolved more, plots thickened, and I liked all of that. There was action after action in this book which made it very much “unputdownable” (though I was listening to it via audiobook which is fantastic).

What really irks me (and I think it’s just me) is how young the characters are. Day and June are…what? 15? Barely close to 16 and I simply have a hard time imagining 15-years-old acting the way that they do. Yes, I understand that the world is completely fictional and I have to look at it through the eyes of someone living in that world but… I don’t know. It still bothers me. However, I did like the rich vs. poor comparison between the two. It’s those sort of “forbidden” romances that I actually enjoy.

I was heartbroken about the revelation of Metias and Thomas! Feelings weren’t reciprocated (it seemed?) and then what happened with Metias… UGH.

loved that we were able to explore the Colonies and see the differences between it and the Republic. I always find it strange and (semi-)unbelievable that whole sections of the U.S. can simply be vastly different like it is in this book. Does that make sense? I’m not thinking in The Hunger Games-type of way either. Hopefully, all the questions I have for that will be answered, too, in the book, including what’s happening with the plague as that seems it was sort of put on the back-burner.

I am excited to see where the final book will take us. That ending was torture, made even worse by the added music on the audiobook. I hope a few years pass from this book to the final book but we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

