Top Ten Tuesday: New-to-Me Authors I Read for the First Time in 2016

Yay! So I’m back to regular blogging now that NaNoWriMo is over! I’m currently working on a non-bookish post about my progress with NaNoWriMo and other things so keep an eye out for that soon!

Gosh, guys, I can’t believe it’s December already! I know people say that all the time but seriously, it’s almost Christmas! This makes me both excited and shocked that 2016 went by so quickly. But with the passing of December also comes January and… My birthday! I’ll be 28 in a little over a month. That’s crazy to think about to.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Well, thanks to the book community on Instagram (#bookstagram), I’ve found myself reading a bunch of books I probably would have never picked up, or would have been reluctant to pick up. That means I have discovered a bunch of new series and new authors that I’ve fallen completely in love with so I’m excited to share this post with you!

First up, we have An Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir. I’d actually seen this book around for a while but I picked it up for like $9 at a used bookstore. I waited until closer to the release of Torch before finally diving in but once I did, I couldn’t wait for the release of Torch, and then to find out that Sabaa would be in my city for part of her book tour! Amazing! Of course, if you remember, I went and had a lovely time. This series is action-packed, has a little bit of romance, fantasy elements and some sort of mysterious magic going on!

Oh, what is there to say about the Six of Crows duology? I cried when I finished Crooked Kingdom. This series is fantastic. Amazing characters with heartbreaking backstories, full of life, loads of action, LGBTQ representation, and a dash of romance in case you needed to have all the feels!

IMG_5388

The Falconer trilogy by Elizabeth May. I picked up the first book from my local library and when I finished it, I knew I was in love. The third book doesn’t come out until June 2017. If you love historical fiction, faeries, steampunk, with a badass female heroine, pick this up!

All three of these ladies have previous book series but because of social media, I’ve discovered them for the first time and these are the books I read by them. Of these three, The Diabolic is my favorite. I’m excited to follow these authors and read their other works.

I listened to the first two books on audio (thanks, commute to work!) and really enjoyed them. I don’t like really care for sci-fi but this has a dystopian element to it as well, and harkens back to ancient Roman times which I really like. It’s a bit like a coming-of-age story as well. Darrow starts out at 16 but then is in his early 20s when the story finishes. This is an emotional roller coaster of a book!

I read these books earlier in the year, and I only remembered liking When We Collided a lot. The others were just “okay” and frankly, I’d never heard of any of these books until #bookstagram! I’m so glad for social media but it has turned my book collection into a downright library! lol

Don’t forget to leave your TTT and I’ll check it out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

