“Waiting on” Wednesday: “Crystal Storm” by Morgan Rhodes

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where we feature unreleased books that we’re anxiously awaiting the release date. I just started to do this feature and I’m quite enjoying it because it also reminds me to check on new releases so I don’t forget which ones to buy, haha!

Today’s is Crystal Storm by Morgan Rhodes, book 5 in the Falling Kingdoms series.

First off, let’s take a gander at the gorgeous cover:

crystal storm

It’s been confirmed that the character on the cover is Magnus!

Truthfully, I got well into the series before I actually started to love it. I surprised myself (and others) for sticking with it even after book 3, but I’m glad I did because Frozen Tides (book 4) is my favorite of the series so far, which makes me even more excited for this book because it’s going to be amazing, I know it!

If you aren’t familiar with the story, here’s the synopsis for Falling Kingdoms, book 1 of the series:

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword….

In every book, stuff just hits the fan, y’all. People are betraying another, killing each other, and there’s some serious backstabbing going on as well, too. But there’s also loyal friends, romance, and magic! I can’t wait to get my hands on this book–it’s not even the last of the series either!

What are some books you’re excited for?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s