Review: “Unravel Me” by Tahereh Mafi

Okay, so I sat on this review for about a week or so, debating my rating. Initially, I rated this just 3 stars but I’m pushing it up to 3 1/2.

I listened to this via audiobook and the narrator does fantastic job! I love how they incorporated Juliette striking out phrases or whole sentences in the book.

unravel-meTitle: Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2)
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release date: February 5, 2013
Genre: Young adult, dystopian
Length: 461 pages (hardcover)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.”

screen-shot-2016-12-16-at-10-04-31-am

screen-shot-2016-12-16-at-9-52-53-am

So, here’s what I liked: Juliette’s character growth! I can understand her hesitancy around strangers at Omega Point but at some points, it got annoying so I’m glad she finally interacted with people and was actually given “missions” to go on with others. I think it helped her come to terms a bit with her “powers.” Also, Kenji! We all need friends like Kenji. He might just be one of my favorite side characters ever, so of course, when something happened to him later in the series, I was distraught! I loved how normal he acts around Juliette and I like that he’s brutally honest with her because at times, Juliette really needs that.

Man, oh man, there were some STEAMY parts in here. I mean, the first few chapters with Adam and Juliette. And then later with Warner. Oh em gee. I’m still forever fascinated with the fact that Juliette hadn’t actually touched anyone in years so I can understand how…carried away she can get with Adam and Warner.

I like that we’re introduced to Warner’s father, Anderson, but GOD, what a freakin’ horrible person. Is it just me or do a fair amount of male antagonists have a history of abusing people? Maybe I’m just imagining that but…whatever. Also, THAT REVELATION ABOUT ADAM AND WARNER. Kill. My. Soul. So because this book has been out for a while, I know who Juliette ends up with but at this point, I’m asking myself HOW? Because seriously, both of them (maybe Adam more than Warner) have an odd, obsessive love with Juliette. I still don’t understand how Warner thinks he’s somehow obligated to have Juliette because he read portions of her journal. I’m trying to figure out who Warner really is and what the heck his plan is.

Because of that, I’m not keen on either Adam or Warner as of right now. I think Juliette definitely needs some time to figure things out herself, and maybe she’ll get that in the next book since this book ended the way it did. I’m also not super keen on the amount of drama that was in this book, especially between Adam, Juliette, and Warner. Sometimes, I felt like I was reading about some silly high school romance.

It’ll be crazy to see what’ll happen next. Not sure if I’ll actually read the final book or listen to it via audiobook. Gotta get to Fracture Me first.

Leave a Reply

