Review: “Ignite Me” by Tahereh Mafi

Wow, this has to be my favorite book in the series! There’s cast amounts of character development and just a bit more world building, and overall, I enjoyed it though I did have some questions as well.

ignite-meTitle: Ignite Me (Shatter Me #3)
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release date: February 4, 2014
Length: 409 pages (hardcover)
Genre: Young adult, dystopian, romance
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.”

 

screen-shot-2016-12-16-at-10-04-40-amscreen-shot-2016-12-16-at-9-52-53-am

This book picks up right after the events of Unravel Me. Juliette has been taken by the Reestablishment but it’s not with who we think it is. Omega Point has been bombed and most of the people there are dead except a few I can count on two hands. Now the goal is to destroy the Reestablishment.

So here’s what I liked: Juliette’s character development. Truthfully, she was a main character I struggled to like because she was always so afraid and unsure of herself. While some of how she felt about was unreasonable, for Juliette, it was logical especially with the way she was treated by her parents and then for being locked up for almost a year. Juliette’s slow progress toward being comfortable with herself, others, and her powers was brought full circle in this book, and other characters such as Kenji, Adam, and Warner pushed Juliette in this progress.

That’s also another thing that I liked: the characters. I absolutely loved Kenji and Juliette’s friendship. We can see how comfortable Juliette became with him and this in turn affected how she saw herself interacting with other people. They laughed and teased each other endlessly. Kenji is definitely the kind of friend anyone would want. We also saw the many sides of his character as well, and I appreciate how he tried to bring Adam and Juliette back together because it allowed Juliette to see Adam in a truer light.

So right, Adam… I don’t know where to become with him. I appreciate his devotion and love for his younger brother, James, but I do not appreciate the turn in his character. However, I can see how important it was for him and Juliette to be together even for a small moment. Even Juliette sees how Adam shaped her thoughts and how she felt about herself, and in the end, she was right. He wanted her to be fragile and weak, and he never gave her the chance to prove herself. As for Warner, he was a bit of opposite. He challenged her but it made her a stronger person with more confidence in her abilities, and he never put her down in a negative light. However, that still doesn’t make up for the fake that he might just be a little crazy. His backstory was endearing but what happened in the end with his mother… I wasn’t sure how to swallow that. Yet it brought Warner and Juliette together and wow… *fans self*

Side note: Super in love with the steamy Warner and Juliette scenes! I really like, too, how Warner feels like he can be himself around Juliette. She seems to have an odd fascination with him but I’m okay with that. Pretty sure I’m just going to add Warner to my list of book boyfriends.

One of main problems is how…er, easy(?) it was for Juliette and her confrontation with the Supreme Commander. I mean, she sort of became rather invincible towards the end and it was a bit anti-climatic. The ending left me with a lot of questions that, I think, an epilogue could have handled fairly well because the ending also felt rushed in certain areas. Sure, they took down the main commander but what about the other sectors? Did the people help? How did they revolt? What happens afterwards? I just have a lot of questions, really.

I’m glad read this series. Juliette is on the top of my list of characters who develops strongly throughout a series.

One thought on “Review: “Ignite Me” by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

