Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Heroines

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish and features a particular top each Tuesday (obviously). Today’s was a freebie one so I chose an older topic, Favorite Heroines. I get the strange feeling that I’ve done this one before… but I can’t remember! Haha. 😛

Don’t forget to leave your TTT, and I’ll be sure to check it out!

Inej Ghafa and Nina Zenik from Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo || I love this series, so there’s no question when someone asks me some of my favorite gals in YA, I choose these two characters. I love their desire to live even though they’ve been through hard stuff. Life for Inej and Nina wasn’t easy, but I like how they found a camaraderie with each other.

Juliette Ferrars of the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi || Truthfully, I didn’t start liking Juliette until the end of Unravel Me, then I grew to love her in Ignite Me because she had such great character development. I was glad she was able to stand on her own and realize her potential and how what happened to her wasn’t her own fault but others’ perception of her.

the winner's trilogy

Kestrel Trajan from The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski || Oh, does this come as a surprise to anyone? It shouldn’t! I love this series to pieces, and love both Kestrel and Arin. (They’re my true OTP). I love Kestrel’s sharp mind and her loyalty.

harry potter

Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series || I can’t forget Hermione. I don’t think I came to fully appreciate her as a character until I grew older. Where would Harry and Ron be if it weren’t for Hermione? Seriously, think about it. 😉

Okay, so I know that Adelina Amouteru is not technically a heroine… She’s probably more like an anti-heroine, but that doesn’t mean I can’t like her. The truth is she destroyed herself and those around her, but was blind to what her good potential could have been.

Helene Aquilla and Laia from An Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir || This might be one of the few series that I’ve read where I’m actually torn between the two main female protagonists. I like Laia, and what she stands for and wants things to change, but I also like Helene. She’s in the middle of everything and ATatN gave me some hope that she might do some good things. We’ll see though.

Celaena Sardothien/Aelin Ashryver from Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas || There should be no question about these two characters. I loved the vunerable Celaena of the first two books and then the badass Aelin in Queen of Shadows and Empire of Storms. She’s a bit more cocky than I like but over and over again, she proves how cunning and loyal she is to her friends and family.

I can’t include Winter here yet because I haven’t read it! Shame on me, I know, but so far I’m really enjoying this series and I think Cress is my favorite book so far. I love all the girls in this series, including Iko, of course! They each have their independent strengths but together, they’re best friends and totally kickass!

Have you read any of these? Any books I should add to my TBR because their youfavorite heroine? Tell me in the comments! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Heroines

  1. Sarah says:

    Love the female characters from the Cinder series! And Thorne, I loved Thorne.

    And of course, Hermione from Harry Potter. I think she was the real star of the books!

    I haven’t read any of the other series yet, but I do have Throne of Glass at home. Just yet to pick it up and actually get started… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pen & Parchment says:

    Love this post!! Inej and Nina are definitely my top favorite female characters, I just adore their friendship and how completely genuine and healthy it is. So much in YA I feel like I read about toxic female friendships, and reading about friendship like Inej and Nina’s is just so refreshing! Plus individually they’re both hilarious and completely kickass. Gotta love a strong heroine!😅❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

