Review: “Clockwork Princess” by Cassandra Clare

Oh. My. Goodness. This book killed me.

In the best way possible. It killed me, possibly ripped my heart out, but then put it all back together again.

Ugh, why did I wait so long to read it?! Whyyyyy?!

clockwork-princessTitle: Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Margaret K. McElderry
Release date: March 19, 2013
Length: 570 pages (hardcover)
Genre: Young adult, historical fiction, fantasy, paranormal, science fiction
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.”

five-starsscreen-shot-2016-12-16-at-9-52-53-am

I don’t even know where or how to begin to write a review for this book. I wasn’t super impressed with The Mortal Instruments, so I didn’t exactly have high hopes for The Infernal Devices. When I finished Clockwork Angel, I thought, “This is good, but what’s with the snobby and flat characters?”

Pfffffft. Boy, was I proved wrong. Why did those words come out of my mouth? You know what happened? Character development. So much character development. By the end of the book, I was weeping! Globs of snot running down nose and concerned looks from my 3-year-old furchild, not to mention the wads of tissue to clean up the mess.

So here’s my feelings in gifs.


dying

So, yeah. All the tears, pretty much.

So much happened in this book. Not only do we get action, but we also get intense, intimate scenes between a variety of characters. I actually didn’t mind many of the pairings, although I did feel it was a bit cliche to have nearly all the characters end up with someone. (Is that spoiler? Idk.) The only character I wasn’t really sure about was Cecily. It’s not that she’s shy or anything–she’s far from that truthfully–but I felt as if she was a flat character. Maybe that’s what happens when you only have one book to learn and explore a character.

I loved nearly all of the scenes with Sophie and Gideon. I loved how smitten he was with her–it was downright adorable! I loved Sophie’s fierce loyalty and determination as well.

Also, scenes that killed me: ANY SCENE WITH JEM AND TESSA OR TESSA AND WILL. Truthfully, I wasn’t sure how I felt about Will, especially in the first book. I wrote it off as Clare’s inability to not write selfish, snobbish characters (one of the things I also didn’t like about Jace in TMI) yet it was his love for Tessa that really pulled at my heartstrings and eventually made me fall for him. Jem and Tessa in the music room as he played for her. Tessa and Will together towards the final chapters of the book. Ugh, all of it killed my soul. Will and Jem together in Jem’s room. Will and Magnus Bane talking while in Jem’s room. UGH. I can’t even think about it without weeping!

(I especially loved all the moments Jem spoke Chinese to Tessa. UGH, MY HEART.)

But you know what really had me in tears? The epilogue. I thought it was perfect. Sometimes we get epilogues that are too short with not enough closure, but this epilogue was absolutely amazing. I loved that we learned what happened after the events of TID, but also we get some closure with Tessa as well. I cannot even emphasize enough how perfect it was. This book was damn near perfect, too.

If you want your heart ripped out and have it sewn back together, then by all means, read this. If you aren’t a fan of TMI, read this. If you want to torture yourself with feelings, READ THIS. I don’t regret it, and this trilogy will go down as one of my favorites.

3 thoughts on “Review: “Clockwork Princess” by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

