Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would

You know when you read a book due to all the hype surrounding it? I mean, it’s one of those books you most likely would have never picked up anyways, but gosh, so many people are talking about it. And you, being you, decided you NEED to know why everyone else loves it?

Alas, even I fall into that trap. Well, okay, maybe it’s not a trap, but dangit, sometimes I’m so entangled it feels exactly like that!

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Feel free to leave your TTT and I’ll be sure to check it out! 🙂

Let’s start with some books I liked less than I thought I would…

Okay, so it’s not as if these books were bad. I mean, they weren’t… The writing was decent and the food descriptions in TWatD made me drool, but still…. They simply didn’t live up to all the hype they’ve received. I think I even gave Fangirl and I’ll Give You the Sun 3 stars via Goodreads (you know, before I had a blog). They’re simply not books I would pick up again. Though that doesn’t discount that I really enjoyed Rowell’s Eleanor & Park, and am super excited for Ahdieh’s Flame in the Mist.

Uprooted was a DNF for me. I heard so many great things about it–like how it was a loose Beauty and the Beast retelling. Well, I was all over that, but nope. I think I stopped reading about half-way through. I didn’t like any of the characters, and really wasn’t convinced of the romance between the two main protagonists.

As for A Shadow Bright and Burning, it was just dull. You can read my full review here. I remember being really glad the book was over. I was confused a majority of the time, and disliked many of the characters. I found error with the plot as well.

Okay, now to books that I loved more than I thought I would!

I wasn’t sure whether or not I would like Eleanor & Park, especially since I didn’t care for Fangirl, which was the first Rowell book I read. But wow, I enjoyed E&P so much–it’s become one of my favorite contemporary books!

I’d heard a lot about An Ember in the Ashes (this really means I’ve seen it around #bookstagram), but I just never picked it up. Well, dangit, that was a mistake of mine. Even when I found it at a used bookstore, it sat on my shelves for months! Another mistake because I absolutely loved this book! I met Sabaa in September of last year for her A Torch Against the Night book tour–also one of my favorite books!

Okay, so Clockwork Angel isn’t my favorite in The Infernal Devices trilogy, this is one of my favorite series! I absolutely fell in love with Clockwork Princess, and it has become one of my favorite finale books. (It doesn’t help that I cried a whole lot when I read the ending. XD )

I’ve read a lot of books in the past year and a half that has challenged the way I used to look at certain genres. The Raven King is both contemporary and paranormal, while The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender is magical realism. Most of my paranormal reading consisted of vampires and strange hauntings, so when I stared reading The Raven Cycle, I loved it instantly, and it’s now become one of my favorite series. Maggie Stiefvater will be at a book festival in the beginning of March, so of course I’m bringing TRC for her to sign! 🙂 As for TSaBSoAL, I literally fell in love with this book. It is both strange and beautiful, to be sure, but the writing is gorgeous as well.

I also started a BlogLovin’, so if you don’t have WordPress, you can follow me there! The link is on the right-hand side bar. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

