Review: “Days of Blood and Starlight” by Laini Taylor

Well, I did not like this book as much as I adored the first one, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it. I continued to listen to it via audiobook because the narrator did such an amazing job with the first one. The second one didn’t disappoint in those terms. I wouldn’t say this suffered from “second book syndrome,” but there were lulls and not much happened in terms of action (yes, there was action). I’ve noticed that a lot that between books in series focus a lot more on world-building and character development; I don’t mind that.

Days of Blood and StarlightTitle: Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #2)
Author: Laini Taylor
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication date: November 6, 2012
Length: 517 pages (hardcover)
Genre: Young adult, fantasy, paranormal
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Art student and monster’s apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is—and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.

While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. For hope.

But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream?” 

screen-shot-2016-12-16-at-10-04-31-amscreen-shot-2016-12-16-at-9-52-53-am

Some of my confusions lies with Karou and her circumstances. She’s now living with the chimera and has taken Brimstone’s place as the Resurrectionist. She’s a human living among the chimera now. While I love the deeper look into the chimera world, I was actually quite surprised by many of the events that took place here, especially in regards to Zuzanna and Mik (who happen to be two of my favorite characters so far). I loved how they interacted with the chimera though, and it seemed both parties had a keen interest in one another. Great comic relief!

My heart hurt so much for Karou and Akiva and their stupid misunderstanding! (Okay, so it might be more than a misunderstanding… but still.) I absolutely love the plotting happening between Akiva, Liraz, and Hazeal. I wish things had worked out for them, and what happened broke my heart. There’s a fierce loyalty between these siblings, and it’s understandable and valiant considering how they were conceived and how flippant their “father” is in regards to them. What I did not expect was that turn of events! It’s so frustrating how close they were and yet…

The romantic feelings between Karou and Akiva aren’t particularly strong in this book. I hope that it’s remedied in the final book. Taylor’s writing continues to be top notch and beautiful but I did find the world-building confusing still. Maybe it’s because I’m listening to this instead of physically reading the book. I imagine there might just be a map but I haven’t even bothered to look, haha.

One thought on “Review: “Days of Blood and Starlight” by Laini Taylor

Leave a Reply

