Mini Review: “Big Mushy Happy Lump” by Sarah Andersen

I’ve been a fan of Sarah’s work for a couple of years now. They never fail to make me laugh, and I relate to them so much. I loved her first book, Adulthood Is a Myth, so when I heard there was going to be a companion book, in a sense, I was thrilled. I also wasn’t disappointed.

Big Mushy Happy LumpTitle: Big Mushy Happy Lump (Sarah’s Scribbles #2)
Author: Sarah Andersen
Publisher: Andrews McNeal Publishing
Release date: March 7, 2017
Genre: Humor, comics, graphic novel, non-fiction
Length: 128 pages (paperback)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Swimsuit season is coming up! Better get beach-body ready! Work on those abs! Lift those butts! 

…Um, or how about never mind to all that and just be a lump. Big Mushy Happy Lump! 

Sarah Andersen’s hugely popular, world-famous Sarah’s Scribbles comics are for those of us who boast bookstore-ready bodies and Netflix-ready hair, who are always down for all-night reading-in-bed parties and extremely exclusive after-hour one-person music festivals. 

In addition to the most recent Sarah’s Scribbles fan favorites and dozens of all-new comics, this volume contains illustrated personal essays on Sarah’s real-life experiences with anxiety, career, relationships and other adulthood challenges that will remind readers of Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half and Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. The same uniquely frank, real, yet humorous and uplifting tone that makes Sarah’s Scribbles so relatable blooms beautifully in this new longer form.”

five-starsMy Thoughts

Big Mushy Happy Lump contains some of Sarah’s most popular comic strips (and some of my own favorites) along with a section of new comics and small essays about various issues the author has dealt with personally such as anxiety, relationships, and the general overarching adulthood. I admire authors who are able to open up about real issues they face everyday, so I was delighted to read some of her personal words.

I absolutely loved this book, and would recommend it to anyone and everyone. I find myself sharing a lot of her, too. I think most of us can relate to these comics, and I love how spot on nearly all of them are. Andersen displays her talent so well in this new book, and I’m excited to see more of her work.

You can follow Sarah on Twitter and Instagram. You can also purchase this book via Amazon or Barnes and Noble or many other major booksellers.

One thought on “Mini Review: “Big Mushy Happy Lump” by Sarah Andersen

Leave a Reply

