Review: “Empress of a Thousand Skies” by Rhoda Belleza

I’m not sure I can adequately form the right words to tell you how much I loved this book! I’m hitting myself because I waited so long to read it. This book came in FairyLoot’s February box, and darrrrrrnnnn, why did I not pick it up right then and there?

Oh well. Guess now I can fangirl about it. 😉

empress-of-a-thousand-skiesTitle: Empress of a Thousand Skies (Empress of a Thousand Skies #1)
Author: Rhoda Belleza
Publisher: Razorbill (Penguin)
Release date: February 7, 2017
Length: 315 pages (hardcover)
Genre: Young adult, fantasy, sci-fi
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “CROWN PRINCESS RHIANNON TA’AN WANTS VENGEANCE.

The only surviving heir to an ancient Kalusian dynasty, RHEE has spent her life training to destroy the people who killed her family. Now, on the eve of her coronation, the time has finally come for Rhee to claim her throne – and her revenge.

ALYOSHA is a Wraetan who has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. Despite his popularity, Aly struggles with anti-Wraetan prejudices and the pressure of being perfect in the public eye.

Their paths collide with one brutal act of violence: Rhee is attacked, barely escaping with her life. Aly is blamed for her presumed murder.

The princess and her accused killer are forced to go into hiding – even as a war between planets is waged in Rhee’s name. But soon, Rhee and Aly discover that the assassination attempt is just one part of a sinister plot. Bound together by an evil that only they can stop, the two fugitives must join forces to save the galaxy.

In this exhilarating debut for fans of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles and Pierce Brown’s Red Rising trilogy, RHODA BELLEZA crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy.”

five-starsMy Thoughts

Yep, 5 stars! Dang, I think this is my first 5 star review of the year! (I think …. I can’t remember!) A lot of books have come close to 5 stars this year but there was always just something missing… But this book! I have one complaint: Why wasn’t it longer? I would have killed to stay in this fantastic world. It was a brilliant blend, reminding me of Star Wars, Firefly, and the non-timey whimey part of Doctor Who! 😉 ❤

The world-building was spot on, and I’m incredibly thankful there was a map. Without one, I would have been lost! The cast of characters was also nice to have as well, since I often referred back to it as well. I loved trapezing around the the galaxy with the characters. This book also dives right into the action, and man, what a way to do it!

We’re introduced to our main character, Rhee, and she comes off strong, though sometimes a bit naive. Her family was killed when she was young, and she’s grown up knowing she must kill for her family–kill the one person whose been holding the Crown in her name and, if rumors are true, the one who killed her parents. But not everything is as it seems. We come to learn that Rhee is ignorant in various ways of the world, including who she thinks is against her family. That itself was a surprise!

My ability to predict how certain things will happen in a book isn’t strong, but I will say that a small part of this book was predictable. But it didn’t make it any less fun to read, and there’s still a sense of mystery surrounding what exactly will happen to Rhee. Initially, I struggled trying to figure out where Alyosha fit into all this, but with the turn of events in this book and all that hinged on Rhee becoming empress, Aly almost seems like he could be a throwaway character. I don’t mean that in a bad way, of course. But people do not like his race and his planet is non-existent. He becomes the brunt of a lot of name-calling, etc.

I’m so excited to read the next book. It doesn’t even have a title or a cover but daaaaang, I need it!

You can purchase this book on Amazon (it’s less than $10), Barnes and Noble, or other major booksellers. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Review: “Empress of a Thousand Skies” by Rhoda Belleza

Leave a Reply

