Review: “Daughter of the Pirate King” by Tricia Levenseller

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I think I’ve said this for a few other books I’ve read lately, but it’s true! I’m not into pirates, so I wasn’t super intrigued by “pirate books.” There were also mixed reviews for this book, but like I said, such a surprise at how much I liked it! I checked it out from the library, but I’ll definitely add this one to my personal library.

Daughter of the Pirate KingTitle: Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1)
Author: Trivia Levenseller
Publisher: Feiwell & Friends
Release date: February 28, 2017
Length: 320 pages (US hardcover)
Genre: Young adult, fantasy, romance
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.”

four starsMy Thoughts

This was a good read for me. I haven’t necessarily been in a reading slump or a book hangover, but I’ve read a string of good books recently, it’s almost shocking how highly I’ve rated most of them, haha. Granted, I’ve heard mixed reviews about this book so I was hesitate going in, but boy, did I enjoy it!

I absolutely loved the banter and snark between Alosa and Riden. I thought their romance would be some goofy, love-at-first-sight thing I wouldn’t like, but I was wrong! It was one of those that came slowly, and from a life-threatening situation. Both have their weaknesses, but I definitely look forward to reading more about them.

As for the story, I do wish we dove a little deeper. We get snippets, and we’re told a lot about the Pirate King, but we weren’t shown in. Alosa’s father was a distant figure until the very end, and the readers don’t realize he’s a cruel man unless we continue reading. I’m not even sure Alosa wanted to believe his coldness. She takes pride in knowing that she was the only child he acknowledged, but as we keep reading we see exactly why. Truthfully, I didn’t see that coming–the other part of Alosa–and I don’t know why I did. I’m glad, though, because I’m intrigued by her even more. (And if the sequel’s title, Daughter of the Siren Queen, is any hint of what goodies are in store, sign me up!)

I did think the world-building lacked in certain areas. It’s very surface level, and sometimes that’s a common problem in many first books in series or in new writers. However, like most things, I hope the sequel will explore more in this area.

You can order this book on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Indiebound, or other major booksellers.

 

7 thoughts on “Review: “Daughter of the Pirate King” by Tricia Levenseller

  1. 24hr.YaBookBlog says:

    So glad you enjoyed DOTPK! ❤ + same here! I thought I wouldn't like Alosa & Riden's relationship/dynamic either, but the banter+snark really developed their relationship over the course of the story in an interesting way! Awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

