Review: “The Bird and the Sword” by Amy Harmon

After seeing some of my favorite bookstagrammers rave about this book, I decided I needed it. The unfortunate part was I didn’t have the money to buy it and my local library didn’t have it either. I wasn’t sure what to do but the great thing about the local library is you can put in a request for a book, and if they receive enough requests, they’ll buy it for their system.

Well, can you guess what happened? I did just that and violá! I read it in about 3 days, which is really saying something, lol. But it helped that I recently had a 3-day weekend. 😛

the bird and the swordTitle: The Bird and the Sword (The Bird and the Sword Chronicles #1)
Author: Amy Harmon
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Release date: May 11, 2016
Length: 352 pages (paperback)
Genre: Fantasy, romance
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) Swallow, Daughter, pull them in, those words that sit upon your lips. Lock them deep inside your soul, hide them ‘til they’ve time to grow. Close your mouth upon the power, curse not, cure not, ‘til the hour. You won’t speak and you won’t tell, you won’t call on heav’n or hell. You will learn and you will thrive. Silence, Daughter. Stay alive.

The day my mother was killed, she told my father I wouldn’t speak again, and she told him if I died, he would die too. Then she predicted the king would trade his soul and lose his son to the sky.

My father has a claim to the throne, and he is waiting in the shadows for all of my mother’s words to come to pass. He wants desperately to be king, and I just want to be free.

But freedom will require escape, and I’m a prisoner of my mother’s curse and my father’s greed. I can’t speak or make a sound, and I can’t wield a sword or beguile a king. In a land purged of enchantment, love might be the only magic left, and who could ever love . . . a bird?”

three and a half starsMy Thoughts

This book was so lovely. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I’m glad I picked it up. The story is so unique and enthralling, the world-building is excellent, and the characters developed. Most of my concerns deal with lack of details and descriptions. I wanted to dive deeper into certain elements of the plot, but it simply wasn’t there.

I wasn’t thoroughly convinced of the romance between Lark and Tiras. I wanted to believe their love was genuine, but I couldn’t escape the thought about Tiras practically keeping her a prisoner. He didn’t treat her bad, and as we see Lark develop as a character and embrace her magic, I eventually enjoyed seeing her wander around the castle right under Tiras’s nose.

Kjell, the king’s guard, was a bit of a conundrum. I wanted to like him, really, but his attitude toward Lark and some of the disdain he showed during some events really pushed me away from him. I can admire his unwavering loyalty to Tiras. I’m just a bit uncertain about his dedication to Lark, and I think he sees her as an extension of Tiras so he simply feels obligated to care for her too. I don’t know… It seems like the sequel, The Queen and the Cure, is Kjell’s story so maybe I’ll appreciate him more when I read that book. XD

What I found most compelling about this story is the power of words. Lark is one of the Gifted, she’s a Teller, meaning she can give animation to many objects with just one word or even an rhyme. In this way, she comes extremely important to Tiras, and that I found lovely. It was a slow romance, which I usually enjoy. I didn’t mind it here, but like I said earlier, I needed more. I hope the second book helps in this area, too.

Overall, I did enjoy this book, but I found it lacked a handful of things for me to absolutely fall in love. It was a nice break from YA. I’ll definitely read the sequel.

You can order this book from Amazon, Barnes and Noble (but not in stores because I tried, lol), or Indiebound. Since this isn’t from a major publishing company, I’m not sure you can find it at other booksellers without asking for them to order it.

4 thoughts on “Review: “The Bird and the Sword” by Amy Harmon

Leave a Reply

