FairyLoot’s May 2017 Unboxing!

I’m so sorry this is incredibly late! I think the June boxes have already gone out and people have already received them. While I didn’t get a June box, I still haven’t share the May box with you guys. I’ve pushed aside writing this actual post, mainly because I’ve spent most of my spare time editing the fourth draft of my book or playing Horizon Zero Dawn on the PS4 (which is really great. Maybe I’ll do a game review? Not sure. :P).

Anyway… Here we go!

First off, I want to show y’all my favorite item in the box (besides the book!).

DSC03004 copy

Ink and Wonder created a beautiful wood bookmark based on the Lord of the Rings trilogy. I’ve heard so many good things about this company, and I’m happy to say that it’s all true! πŸ™‚ (Also featuring my dog, Ollie, in the background because he couldn’t bear I wasn’t paying attention to him. :P)

DSC03001 copyThe May box included another book, World Mythology in Bite-Sized Chunks by Mark Daniels. This book is so neat because it has short stories of various types of other mythologies from other cultures. I’m also fascinated by how different countries have different yet sometimes similar myths. While I’m not a huge sock warrior, these Celtic socks feature a Celtic knot pattern, a form of decorative Celtic art.

DSC03000 copy.jpg

These are a few of my other favorite items. A 2 oz candle by In the Wick of Time. I received the “Mist” candle which smells like warm stone and woodsmoke. Others may have received the Flame candle. I really like the way this candle smells. I haven’t burned it yet. πŸ™‚ The metallic feather pen is from Flora’s Wonder Emporium, and you had the chance to receive a silver, gold, or rose gold one. I’m happy with the one I received. πŸ™‚ The Tea Leaf Co provided a jasmine and lychee green tea. Truthfully, I’m not a tea drinker, so I’m going to pass it on to someone who is. πŸ™‚

DSC03002 copy

FairyLoot always includes a small “bonus” in their boxes. This item was a first chapter sampler from Naondel: The Red Abby Chronicles by Maria Turtschanioff. I’ve actually never heard of this book before, and I think this sampler may be from the second book in the series.

 

 

 

Now to the book!

DSC02998

I read this as an ARC before it came out and really enjoyed it. I was hesitant because I didn’t like Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn, but Flame in the Mist was a delight. I know it’s been pitched as a Mulan retelling but that’s only like…25% accurate, if that. πŸ˜› It was still beautiful written, and I’m excited for the sequel. FairyLoot always includes an author letter to the reader, and this book also came with a bookmark and a bookplate!

Here’s my full unboxing picture which I posted in my Instagram a few weeks ago!

DSC02994

I’m very happy with this box. I skipped the June box because Husband and I are saving money for our vacation next month. XD

FairyLoot is a UK-based book subscription box. The exchange rate for me in the US is about $50. This is my third box from them, and I find it all well worth it! You can subscribe to FairyLoot here! Their June theme was Elementalists and the July theme is Tricksters. There might be some July boxes left–you’ll have to check and see!

Leave a Reply

