Review: “Our Dark Duet” by Victoria Schwab

I didn’t know what to think of this book when I first went into it. After reading Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic, which everyone raved about but I just found meh, I started This Savage Song with hesitation. But I loved it, and my heart hurt when I found out it was only a duology. However, Our Dark Duet didn’t disappoint!

our-dark-duetTitle: Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2)
Author: Victoria Schwab
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Release date: June 13, 2017
Length: 510 pages (U.S. hardcover)
Genre: Young adult, fantasy, paranormal
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) THE WORLD IS BREAKING. AND SO ARE THEY.

KATE HARKER isn’t afraid of monsters. She hunts them. And she’s good at it.

AUGUST FLYNN once yearned to be human. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

THE WAR HAS BEGUN.

THE MONSTERS ARE WINNING.

Kate will have to return to Verity. August will have to let her back in. And a new monster is waiting—one that feeds on chaos and brings out its victims’ inner demons.

Which will be harder to conquer: the monsters they face, or the monsters within?”

four starsMy Thoughts

Wow, I was not expecting that ending. I’m warning you that it’s filled with ALL THE FEELS so be careful as you read. Other than that, this book was so good. Dark, gritty, but also questions of who to love, how to love, and how to love yourself, and what it means to protect others. I’ll admit that Kate was not my favorite in TTS. I mean, hello, August in just a little cinnamon roll. Well, he’s just a BADASS cinnamon roll in this book. And I actually, I like Kate a lot more in this book. Her priorities change into something bigger than herself, and we see her actually care for people and things as well, which really allowed me to relate and feel for her and her situation.

I loved where Schwab took this book. It’s obvious she poured a great deal of herself into this series, and it shows in the small moments between Kate and August, and their individual contemplations. The author pulls on your heartstrings, and the importance of different people in each main characters’ lives is transparent, as are their struggle and internal tension.

Also, if you like a lot of bloodshed, you’d definitely like this one. Sloan and Alice, both of whom we meet in the previous book, are bloodthirsty characters, literally and figuratively. They are Malachi, monsters who feed off the blood of individuals. Each, too, have their own vendettas. With a new monster and its close connection to Kate, Sloan is more desperate than ever to get his hands on Kate. As for Alice, personally, I think she just sees everything as fun and games.

I enjoyed the introduction of another Sunai, who goes by the name of Soro (pronounced like “sorrow”). Like August uses the violin, Sloan’s choice of instrument/weapon is a knifeflute. God, how awesome does that sound? I like the juxtaposition of Soro and August. Soro is a no-holds barred monster, but August (and I think a lot of his past has to do with even his current thinking and rationale) still contemplates and tries to understand. Soro simply goes for it. They don’t show a lot of mercy (also, yay for gender-neutral pronouns!), and it forces August to think a bit differently, too.

Overall, I enjoyed this series. I was sad to read of the fate of some of the characters, and I’m still struggling to understand the fate of one particular character. I’d list this series as one of my favorites. I always found the premise of this book unique, and my opinion hasn’t changed.

You can purchase this book on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, IndieBound, Book Depository (this is a link to the UK paperback edition), or other major booksellers.

One thought on “Review: “Our Dark Duet” by Victoria Schwab

Leave a Reply

