OwlCrate’s July 2017 “Wanderlust” Unboxing!

Oh my word, it’s a miracle! I’m actually getting this out decently early instead of close to the end of the month, haha! That never happens, but unfortunately, a lot of the book blogging memes I normally do don’t have topics that interest me. :/ I’m also sad to report that OwlCrate’s July box was one of my least favorite boxes.

When it comes to subscription boxes, I’m never a 3-, 6-, or 12-month subscriber. When the theme is announced, I snoop around in order to guess what the book is. If I think I have it right, or if the teasers are really tempting. Right away, I knew what this book would be, and I fell in love with the theme, too. This box simply didn’t live up to what my expectations were. I mean, I don’t think my expectations are very high, but still. XD I’ve been disappointed in any of the sub boxes I’ve received (granted, I’ve only subscribed to FairyLoot and OwlCrate), so to say this was a let down is kind of an understatement.

Okay, am I depressing you yet? I’m so sorry! Let me get to the contents of the box!

IMG_9026

DSC03222.JPG

Truthfully, I couldn’t care less about the intro cards or buttons bins. I’m not a big collector of either. I prefer enamel pins over button ones, but I do like how the girl’s shirt says “Gryffindor”, and I see how the pin would appeal to people if they aren’t huge collectors of the intro cards.

I absolutely love Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Newt is also adorable, but I don’t like keychains! I definitely would have preferred a full size Funko Pop! of Newt rather a keychain. This print by Shailey Ann Design is one of my favorite prints from the box, even though the book it’s from (Looking for Alaska by John Green) isn’t one I like well.

DSC03214.JPG

I like Lord of the Rings though. Unfortunately, I do not like drawstring bags. They hurt my shoulders, and since I’m not in school, I don’t see a use for this bag. My friend suggested I turn it into a pillow case, and I think that might be my best option. I love the quote though. If I’m right, I believe it’s the song Pippin sings to Lord Denethor in The Return of the King film.

DSC03217.JPG

This is a lovely mirror by Miss Phi. The phrase comes from V.E. Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic series and means “to travel.” I read the first book of the series, and while I liked it, I’ve never liked it enough to read the next two books. Recently, I thought about picking it back up because apparently, they just get better. But gees, have you seen my TBR? LOL It’s really a beautiful piece of work, and I’m sure ADSoM fan would love it!

DSC03218

This small notebook on the right is by Ooly, and the owl bag tag is by Mudpuppy. I don’t find use for notebooks like this, so I gave it to my best friend who carries around two of them all the time, haha. 🙂 As for the bag tag, it’s not my style at all. My oldest niece used to love owls, and I’d only keep it for sentimental reasons. But she goes to school now (she’ll be in 2nd grade this month!) so maybe she can use it on her backpack. 🙂

Now, finally, to the pièces de résistance. A few months ago, OwlCrate announced that the books in the next few boxes would have exclusive covers, special only to OwlCrate. They had one last year back in November for Heartless by Marissa Meyer, and it was a big hit. But for me, I’m not feeling it.

DSC03220

If you’ve seen the original cover of A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, it’s teal and the colors of the letters are different. This cover, and its spine, is light blue. I saw the original cover in stores and loved it, so I wasn’t impressed with this “exclusive” cover. I like how OwlCrate makes things “different” and their own, but I wasn’t feeling it. I think I’m going to try to trade this for the original cover.

As usual, the book came with an author letter, which is seriously the best one I’ve seen so far, and a signed bookplate. (I can’t bring myself to put these in my book yet. XD) But this little gem of a book (which has already hit the NY Bestsellers List) also came with a poster of the map:

DSC03221

Is this not the CUTEST thing you’ve ever seen?! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the little buildings and good pictures! I can’t wait until my husband and I finish redesigning the office. I plan on having an entire wall to stick all my bookish goodies on, and I have a fair amount of posters to hang up! 🙂

DSC03223

It all goes so well together. I really do like the theme, and think the OwlCrate team did a great job, but the items fell short for me.

August’s theme is “Something Wicked This Way Comes” and they’ve already announced some awesome things for the box over on their Instagram!

Leave a Reply

