Review: “Giant Days” Vol. 3 & 4 by John Allison

I can’t remember if I’ve reviewed the first two volumes of this comic series on my blog… And shame on me! I picked up volumes 3 & 4 when I came across them at the library. I’ve seriously forgotten how fun and hilarious this series is!

Again, I’m reviewing the two volumes together like I did with Monstress. 🙂

Title: Giant Days, Volumes 3 & 4
Author: John Allison, et al.
Publisher: BOOM! Box
Release date(s): October 11, 2016 & March 14, 2017 (respectively)
Genre: Young adult, graphic novels, comics
Length: 112 pages (U.S. trade paperback)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Best friends Susan, Esther, and Daisy are rounding out their first semester at university. The girls, along with their male hall-mates Ed and McGraw, find that college is more than academics and bad microwavable meals. Add some pub-hopping, hookups, breakups, and political scandal and this might just be the most eventful first semester ever.

It’s springtime at Sheffield University — the flowers are blooming, the birds are singing, and fast-pals Susan, Esther and Daisy continue to survive their freshman year of college. Susan is barely dealing with her recent breakup with McGraw, Esther is considering dropping out of school, and Daisy is trying to keep everyone and everything from falling apart! Combined with house-hunting, indie film festivals, and online dating, can the girls make it to second year?”

five-starsMy Thoughts

I absolutely love this comic book series! I wish I had discovered these sooner, because I would have bought the single issues for sure! I keep an eye out for them when I’m at the comic book stores, but I haven’t had much luck. 😦

Anyway, this series never fails to make me laugh out loud. I love these group of girls–love how they didn’t know each when they first started out at uni, but now they’re nearly inseparable. I find that they balance each other quite well, too, each with their own unique personality and what they bring to their friendship. I just really enjoy how they’re navigating their way through their first year of college, too. College was one of the best times of my life (so far 😛 ), so it’s fun to be able to relate to a lot of their situations.

I definitely enjoy the art and the storyline, of course. Even though a storyline may be enjoyable, I get turned off by the art often times. Fortunately, I love both in Giant Days, which really helps me connect to the series as well. I look forward to following these girls throughout the rest of their college years (hopefully, to the end).

If you’re looking for a quick and easy read, but something that will make you laugh, pick up this series! I promise you won’t regret it. I think it’s enjoyable not only for a YA audience, but also for later year middle schoolers. Of course, adults will get a kick out of this, too. I sure did. 😉 (There, I called myself an adult! *shrieks* 😮 )

You can purchase these volumes on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository, and Indie Bound. I know physical B&Ns may carry copies as well. Not sure about independent booksellers or comic book stores. More often than not, comic book stores really just carry the super popular trade paperback graphic novels.

One thought on “Review: “Giant Days” Vol. 3 & 4 by John Allison

Leave a Reply

