Review: “Into the Bright Unknown” by Rae Carson

Well… Okay. I don’t know what to say. I liked this series, but I don’t think I love this series. I think of the 3 books, the 2nd book, Like a River Glorious is my favorite. I listened to the first two books via audiobook, but this one wasn’t available from the Overdrive app and I happened to see it while perusing the shelves not too long ago. So I snatched it up.

Into the Bright UnknownTitle: Into the Bright Unknown (The Gold Seer Trilogy #3)
Author: Rae Carson
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Release date: October 10, 2017
Genre: Young adult, historical fiction, fantasy
Length: 343 pages (hardcover)
Synopsis: (via Goodreads) The stunning conclusion to Rae Carson’s New York Times–bestselling Gold Seer trilogy, which Publishers Weekly in a starred review called “Simply terrific.” A historical fantasy brimming with magic, romance, and adventure—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah Maas, and Westworld.

Leah Westfall, her fiancé Jefferson, and her friends have become rich in the California Territory, thanks to Lee’s magical ability to sense precious gold. But their fortune has made them a target, and when a dangerous billionaire sets out to destroy them, Lee and her friends decide they’ve had enough—they will fight back with all their power and talents. Lee’s magic is continuing to strengthen and grow, but someone is on to her—someone who might have a bit of magic herself. The stakes are higher than ever as Lee and her friends hatch a daring scheme that could alter the California landscape forever. With a distinctive young heroine and a unique interpretation of American history, Into the Bright Unknown strikes a rich vein of romance, magic, and adventure, bringing the Gold Seer Trilogy to its epic conclusion. Includes a map and an author’s note.”

three starsMy Thoughts

I just noticed the synopsis says for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas, and Westworld. Well, while I love the first two, I’ve never seen Westworld! But I guess that doesn’t matter much.

Truthfully, I’m not really sure what to say. I just liked the book. I wasn’t overly in love with it. I enjoyed it, but it was just that–I liked it, nothing more, nothing less. After the big events in book 2, I expected quite a grand finale, but for me, it wasn’t there. However, I liked how Leah continued to discover new ways to use her ‘magic.’ I like that we learn just a bit more about the history of parents, including what made her uncle Hiram act the way he did. (Though I’m still not sure I wanted to believe it.)

There is a particular female character, new to the series, who piqued my interest, especially considering she has her own sort of ‘magic.’ And while I liked that Leah learned more about the history of her powers, it wasn’t enough for me. I really think the author could have gone deeper, especially with what we learn about Leah’s mother, too. The hard part about this is everything is from word of mouth. I need something concrete, whether it be a letter or… something. I really didn’t feel Hardwick as a villain either.

I love the cast of characters, each unique in their own way, playing their part in what is essentially a bit of a heist. Despite this, I definitely felt like this final book was anti-climatic. It felt a bit like the first book, too, in that it felt stagnant, waiting for something to happen.

You can buy this book from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository, Indie Bound, or other major booksellers.

**If you missed it, I’m giving away a copy of Between the Blade and the Heart. You can check out this post and enter the Rafflecopter! U.S. only. Ends TOMORROW!**

One thought on “Review: “Into the Bright Unknown” by Rae Carson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s