Review: “Dreams of Gods and Monsters” by Laini Taylor

It’s always sad to see a series come to an end, especially one you thoroughly enjoyed. I listened to this entire series via audiobook, which was narrated by Khristine Hvam who did anΒ amazing job! Once I start a series via audiobook, I try to continue with it (which really works out well for my TBR πŸ˜› ).

Now that I finished this series, I can readΒ Strange the Dreamer! πŸ™‚

dreams of gods and monstersTitle: Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3)
Author: Laini Taylor
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Release date: April 8, 2014
Genre: Young adult, paranormal, fantasy, romance
Length: 613 pages (U.S. hardcover)
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) “Two worlds are poised on the brink of a vicious war. By way of a staggering deception, Karou has taken control of the chimaera’s rebellion and is intent on steering its course away from dead-end vengeance. The future rests on her.

When the brutal angel emperor brings his army to the human world, Karou and Akiva are finally reunited – not in love, but in a tentative alliance against their common enemy. It is a twisted version of their long-ago dream, and they begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people. And, perhaps, for themselves.

But with even bigger threats on the horizon, are Karou and Akiva strong enough to stand among the gods and monsters?

The New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy comes to a stunning conclusion as – from the streets of Rome to the caves of the Kirin and beyond – humans, chimaera, and seraphim strive, love, and die in an epic theater that transcends good and evil, right and wrong, friend and enemy.”

four starsMy Thoughts

This is aΒ good finale. Ending a series well isΒ hard. I say this like I have personal experience writing them–I don’t. XD But I do have experience reading them (obviously!) and I’ve come across some awful ones and some great ones. This one I file with the latter. πŸ™‚ Yet I still have some complaints about certain aspects of this book which I’ll address later. First, the good stuff!

World-building. Jesus Christ, Taylor does an amazing job. I’ve found very little fault with the created world. I think I stated this in my review of the first book, I don’t read a lot of books that deal with angels and demons. It’s never really been by sub-category, but this is definitely high on the list of seriously good trilogies. I won’t say it’s my favorite. While the writing was good, the characters complex, and the storyline deep, it didn’t tug at my heartstrings or pull me in to call it a favorite.

One of my main confusions with this book was the introduction of Eliza. Eventually, we do see the role she played and where she came from but it was just…meh. However, I do like how she was tied in with another character. I won’t say who because spoilers! but it definitely wasn’t what I expected. Another thing that confused me was the romance, not between Karou and Akiva, but between Liraz and another character. It felt like it came out of nowhere, and it took me a while to warm up to them.

Another thing was the ease of the resolution. It seemed too simple. I mean, I can’t say that’s a bad thing because truthfully, all the characters needed some peace and quiet after all the craziness of trying to unite the angels and chimaera. The introduction of Akiva’s parentage and his true nature was quite enlightening and truthfully, rather heartbreaking, especially for Karou. I really just needed them to be happy. XD

Mik and Zuzana were true gems in this book! I loved how we followed them as well, allowing us not to get too caught up in what was going on in the otherworld. I love how they simply accepted everything with little complaint, too.

Overall, IΒ highly recommend this series! It’s gorgeously written with a brilliant plot and lush world-building. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

You can purchase this book and the other books in the series on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Indiebound or any other major bookseller.

One thought on “Review: “Dreams of Gods and Monsters” by Laini Taylor

Leave a Reply

