Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want to Read a Book

You know, I think I’ve ever talked about book genres/topics that make me not pick up books. I’m fairly open when it comes to certain genres (I’ve grown to love contemporary more lately), but there are just certain ones I can’t bring myself to read.

Maybe I’m not the only one? (Hopefully!)

Horror/Thriller/Suspense: Yeah… Just not for me. Maybe because I don’t like horror movies either? I don’t want to be scared out of my mind. I’m freaked out my normal things every day! I don’t need it in my fiction either!

No no no

X Character Is an Athlete: *hides* Right. Okay, I know this might appeal to others, but not to me. Maybe because I was never an athlete in high school! I played tennis for one year in middle school and didn’t go back afterwards. I wasn’t very good (surprise!) even though I liked the coach (who was also my English teacher at the time) and even made friends on the team.

New Adult: So it’s no surprise I’m 28. I don’t flaunt my age but I don’t hide it either. I’ve been a “new adult.” (Or am I still one?!) But I’m not interested in these genre. The most popular author I can think of is Colleen Hoover. I read November 9 a while ago and while I enjoyed it, I had some problems with it. I have Confess sitting on my shelf but I haven’t picked it up.

Magical realism: I’m on the fence about this one. A few years ago I read The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton and absolutely loved it. Then I saw a movie trailer for Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin, and of course I wanted to read the book before I saw the movie! Well, I ended up DNFing the book. Omg, it was the worst! Maybe I’m picking up the wrong books? Someone help me!

Zombies/Aliens: Just no. Not about that at all.hell no

Chick-lit: I think I have attached a bad connotation with this one. When someone says “chick lit,” I think of stories of woman who are very focused on finding romantic partner rather than what’s going on around them. Maybe I’m wrong to think chick-lit is very different from women’s fiction. I think women’s fiction has more of a serious tone.

Paranormal/Supernatural: Another genre I’m on the fence about. When I was in high school, Twilight was so popular, so we saw a surge of these two genres, ranging mostly from vampires and werewolves. Yes, there are great PN/SN fiction out there (I loved Anne Rice’s The Vampire Chronicles), but I’ve just moved on to other genres. I will admit that The Raven Cycle made me love this genre a little more though. ❤

Crime/Mystery: Again, not something I normally gravitate to. Granted, I did recently read some great mystery fiction, but I’ll overlook this genre for something else.

doctor who noChristian fiction: I’ve read a handful of great Christian fiction (Francine Rivers, Liz Curtis Higgs, C.S. Lewis), but it’s definitely not something I randomly pick up. If I hear about a good book, I’ll pick it up, but I feel the same way about this genre as I do about chick lit. Christian fiction can be incredibly cliche. Now I’m not saying it’s not good for others but for me… Nope. It came be very repetitive.

Poetry: The last poetry collection I picked up was milk and honey. I absolutely love it, but again, another genre I don’t gravitate toward.

What are some genres/topics/words that make you not pick up a book? Don’t forget to leave your TTT so I can check it out! 🙂

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want to Read a Book

  1. Pen & Parchment says:

    I can definitely relate to the athlete one! 😂 I don’t like sports at all, so anytime I see a book with a football player on the front or general sports imagery, I pass. I just can’t relate at all, even though I’m sure the stories are good! 😅

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sarah says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever read Christian Fiction! I have read books around Buddhism and Wicca, though. Maybe it’d be worth a read 🙂

    Anything by Charles Dickens just immediately makes me groan with boredom. I love the concepts in his novels but I just cannot seem to enjoy them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hannah @ Book Freak-Out says:

    While I love fantasy, I don’t read ones that have summary text that drops an overly dramatic invented name every five words to the point where it just garbles everything. “The Ancient mage Egearscsdhicush has mastered the art of Ksdscvyuodbiu in his quest to save the realm of Woczscoihisosd from the clutches of Usvdslscklidvhs.” Too much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

