Review: “Adulthood Is a Myth” by Sarah Anderson

GUYS/GALS. Go get this book. From your library, from the bookstore, who gives a care, just go get it. (Well, don’t steal it. Legal things, guys!)

I haven’t laughed this hard since I read Nimona or Lumberjanes.

I even used this comic in a previous post (which is in the book so if you can relate to below, go get this):

communication

Because all of this is relatable!

sarah's scribbles

Title: Adulthood Is a Myth
Author: Sarah Anderson
Release date: March 8, 2016
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Length: 109 pages (paperback)
Genre: Graphic novels, comics, humor, nonfiction, art, HILARIOUS
Synopsis: (from Goodreads) Are you a special snowflake?  Do you enjoy networking to advance your career?  Is adulthood an exciting new challenge for which you feel fully prepared?  Ugh. Please go away.

This book is for the rest of us. These comic document the wasting of entire beautiful weekends on the internet, the unbearable agony of holding hands on the street with a gorgeous guy, dreaming all day of getting home and back into pajamas, and wondering when, exactly, this adulthood thing begins. In other words, the horrors and awkwardnesses of young modern life.”

My rating: 5/5 HILARIOUS STARS

If you’re a bookworm or an introvert, please go read this book. It’s a shame that you haven’t read it already. XD

I have absolutely no regrets about reading this book in one sitting and showing Husband all comics that remind me of me or of him even while he’s driving the car. (It’s okay, we were at stoplights so don’t worry).

I can relate to this book on so many levels. If Sarah wrote this as a biography about my life, she pretty much nailed it (minus the comics about her drawing because I can’t draw to save my life).

Adulthood is hard and sometimes I don’t think life (AKA 15 or so years of school) really prepares you for it. Anderson captures the humor and truth that we sometimes feel doing “adult” things.

Also, the cover is fuzzy. Like teaching kids the different between textures fuzzy. And I like it.

 

One thought on “Review: “Adulthood Is a Myth” by Sarah Anderson

Leave a comment