I Met Sarah J. Maas and OMG.

I am super delayed in writing this post since it’s been nearly 3 weeks since I saw her but here I am! πŸ™‚

I’ve been a fan of SJM since I readΒ Throne of Glass some time last year. While I wasn’t overly excited aboutΒ A Court of Thorns and Roses, I’ve been told I need to hold on and readΒ A Court of Mist and Fury before I judge that series so… I’ll do that…eventually. πŸ˜›

I traveled to Watermark Books in Wichita, KS to see Sarah for her Empire of Storms tour. It’s a cute, local, independent bookstore in the city with a cute little cafΓ© attached to it.

Right! So I got to the event around 1:30 and was quite surprised to see how full the room was! I should have known, really, but alas… I didn’t know how it would go.Β I had to stand in line to pick up my pre-order ofΒ Empire of Storms and my signing ticket. Because I pre-ordered EoS I received a priority signing ticket.

There were so many people! I would guess at least 150+! It was so wild!

img_6010dsc01615

The actual event started at 2 and when Sarah walked through, everyone cheered and clapped! πŸ™‚

dsc01627

She seemed very shocked that there were so many people! That’s her “OMG” expression because she mouthed that as she got up to the stage! Haha! Also, she’s so lovely and beautiful! I couldn’t help but think that the entire time I was there!

It was such a great event and Sarah talked about so many things, like how she’s such a fangirl about Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Sailor Moon (!!!), Buffy the Vampire Slayer. And she’s also a big crier. Haha! She says that she cries at almost everything. It’s too funny.

dsc01645

Sarah also told stories about writing the “steamy” parts in both EoS and ACOTAR series. I love how she said that we should be able to read both the bloody, violent stuff while also reading the steamy, sex stuff. She mentioned giving ACOMAF to her grandmother but told her grandmother not to read it due to all the sex but her grandmother replied something along the lines of, “That’s just up my alley!” LOL

There was also time for a Q&A and she spoke a bit about her query process and finding an agent. She said she sent out ToG 14-15 times and received 1 response back from a literary agent and that person is her agent today! Crazy how things work!

dsc01740

Kudos to my husband for standing in line with me and taking these pictures! Speaking of standing in lines, I met a lovely book buddy named Hannah! She wrote about the same event on her blog. Please check it out! She does a great play-by-play recap! πŸ™‚

Unfortunately, due to Sarah’s doctor’s orders, she could only physically sign one but her husband was there to stamp the other 2 with a really neat Empire of Storms stamp of Sarah’s signature in pretty gold writing! I brought my favorite books in the series:Β Crown of Midnight andΒ Queen of Shadows.

img_6093

What I also found so lovely is that Sarah brings the very first edition ofΒ Throne of Glass for her fans to sign. It’s filled to the brim with such lovely comments from her fans and I felt very honored to sign it!

dsc01780

Hey, there’s Hannah! πŸ™‚ We made it all the way to the end together!

I hope Sarah will be near me when book 3 in the ACOTAR is published! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “I Met Sarah J. Maas and OMG.

Leave a Reply

