Top 10 Tuesday: Books That Need a Sequel

TTT-Big2
A weekly blog meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

Technically, the topic is standalone books that need a sequel, but gosh, there are finales of series that I think also need another book because I just want more, and sometimes an author leaves things pretty open-ended. I know most of crave for standalone books, but sometimes those books need answers! But also, this is mostly me, my wishful thinking, and just how fun it would be to have another story with these characters!

I also did a twist on the topic all the way at the bottom, so check that out too! 🙂

A Very Large Expanse of SeaIt’s not that this needs a sequel, I just really want one. This book packs an emotional punch, and is an eye-opener to the reality of what still happens here in America.

I’d love to know if Ocean and Shirin kept in contact, and how their life perspective changed (if it did at all) due to their relationship. I also just want more of Mafi’s writing. Not that I don’t love the Shatter Me series, but she could write more contemporary books and I’d gobble them down.

 

 

 

I know you might be thinking I’m mad, but after I finished Muse of Nightmares I can’t help but think there’s gotta be more. After everything that was discovered in Muse, I know there’s more in Taylor’s brain about this series. I’m crossing my fingers!

I feel like I would have enjoyed Empress of All Seasons a bit more had the ending not felt incredibly rushed. I loved the premise and the characters, the folklore, and the world-building. But I really wanted more. I thought the ending was incredibly abrupt and had this “happily ever after”-vibe, which is fine, but again… Rushed!

As for Silver in the Blood, while it wasn’t my favorite, I rated it 3.5 stars and love a sequel! It’s historical fantasy about two American society girls who end up having to travel to Romania to meet their ancestors and discover the secrets of the family. It seemed like the author wrote the book intending for there to be a sequel, but I assume it didn’t do so well so maybe the publisher didn’t ask for one. But if there was one… I’d like it!

Look, I’m not even asking for a proper sequel. How about a companion novel? I mean, the night circusreally I’d be okay with that. I know the book ended in that certain way, hence why I’d just like a companion novel, please. LOL

The author is working on a new novel called The Starless Sea, which sounds fantastic, and is set to release on November 5. It doesn’t have a cover yet but it does have a synopsis:

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when he discovers a strange book hidden in the library stacks. As he turns the pages, entranced by tales of lovelorn prisoners, key collectors, and nameless acolytes, he reads something strange: a story from his own childhood. Bewildered by this inexplicable book and desperate to make sense of how his own life came to be recorded, Zachary uncovers a series of clues — a bee, a key, and a sword — that lead him to a masquerade party in New York, to a secret club, and through a doorway to a subterranean library, hidden far below the surface of the earth.

What Zachary finds in this curious place is more than just a buried home for books and their guardians — it is a place of lost cities and seas, lovers who pass notes under doors and across time, and of stories whispered by the dead. Zachary learns of those who have sacrificed much to protect this realm, relinquishing their sight and their tongues to preserve this archive, and also those who are intent on its destruction. Together with Mirabel, a fierce, pink-haired protector of the place, and Dorian, a handsome barefoot man with shifting alliances, Zachary travels the twisting tunnels, darkened stairwells, crowded ballrooms, and sweetly soaked shores of this magical world, discovering his purpose — in both the mysterious book and in his own life.

time weaverLook I’m not following the whole prompt very well because I keep listing series but I can’t forget this one! This is actually the 5th and final ( 😦 )book in the Drakon series by Shane Abé. After reading this one I thought, “Um, excuse me, there’s more, right!?”

This series is about a family of shapeshifters who turn into dragons and is set during Regency England and beyond (but still remains historical fantasy). It’s been a while since I read this series and while I didn’t rate all the books highly, Time Weaver really solidified my addiction of this series.

 

 

I read the end of The Sun Is Also a Star and immediately wanted more. There’s a decent the-sun-is-also-a-startime gap between the final chapter and the epilogue. But I didn’t necessarily want to know what happened during that time period. Rather I want to know what happened after the prologue, which I think could be explored wonderfully. And it won’t even have to be YA, but rather New Adult, which is fine with me!

I know some people dislike this book because of the insta-love, and while I get it, I also… Just like Daniel and Natasha together as a whole. Like they’re perfectly balanced.

You can read my review for this book here.

 

 

Now this next one might be a little silly but… I’m gonna choose it anyway!

The Infernal Devices wins hands-down over The Mortal Instruments for me. The epilogue of Clockwork Princess destroyed me (I cried like a baby), so it would be SHAME for me not to include how much more I want of Tessa and Jem. Look, I know we’re getting The Last Hours series, which is about Will and Tessa’s kids. But do I care? (Okay, maybe a little because I love historical fiction.) And yes, Jem and Tessa are on page for a few scenes in The Dark Artifices, but I really want their whole lives together because they deserve it!

And now since I’ve run out of books that I want sequels of… I’m going to feature two books where I disliked the sequels, which ultimately caused me to bother not continuing the series…

Yep.

It’s true.

I gave Ice Like Fire a low rating because it was just dull and boring. I ended up DNFing it.

Windwitch, on the other hand, is a book I wanted to like. It has all the things I love, and the magic system while confusing was also pretty cool. I loved the friendship between Safi and Iseult. But everything else fell flat so… Yeah. I’m in no way motivated to finish either of these series.

Don’t forget to leave your Top 10 Tuesday post in the comments and I’ll be sure to check it out!

xo nicole signature

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Books That Need a Sequel

  1. jess @ crowing about books says:

    I agree with The The Infernal Devices – what I’d really love is a whole novel of Tessa and Jem’s life post-TDA, with Kit and baby Carstairs. Just a sweet domestic life and no angst.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment